To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bland County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bland County, Virginia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bland County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Bland County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Bland County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Bland County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1861
County Seat Bland
Courthouse
VirginiaBlandCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Bland County is located in the Southwest portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia sharing a border with West Virginia. Bland County was named after Richard Bland, a leader of Colonial Virginia[1].

Bland County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bland County Courthouse
612 Main Street, Suite 104
Bland, VA 24315
Phone: 540-688-4562

Clerk Circuit court has marriage, probate and land records 1861
and divorce records from 1900[2]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1861 1861 1861 1861 1861 1861 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Bland County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Richard Bland (1710-1776)

The county was named after Richard Bland (1710-1776), Virginia delegate to the Continental Congress in 1774 and 1775.[4]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1861--Bland County was created 30 March 1861 from Giles, Tazewell and Wythe Counties.
County seat: Bland [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps (1617-1995) may be viewed at MapofUS.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Fire.png

1888 Most loose papers were destroyed by a courthouse fire in 1888. Bound volumes, and some of the chancery papers remain.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Bland County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Bland County. By John Frederick Dorman. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1961):77-78. CD available at: New England Ancestors ($).

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

For a more detailed list, including addresses and external links, see Bland County, Virginia Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in Bland County: [6]

  • Bethel Cemetery
  • Bivins Cemetery
  • Clark Cemetery
  • Clark Cemetery
  • Comfort Cemetery
  • Crabtree Cemetery
  • Gibson Cemetery
  • Hogan Cemetery
  • Hoges Chapel Cemetery
  • Hoges Chapel Methodist Cemetery
  • Houndshell Cemetery
  • Newberry Cemetery
  • Pruett Cemetery
  • Red Oak Cemetery
  • Rose Hill Cemetery
  • Sharon Cemetery
  • Shewey Cemetery
  • Shields Cemetery
  • Shrader Cemetery
  • Sword Cemetery
  • Temple Hill Cemetery
  • Tuggle Cemetery
  • Tynes and Ferguson Cemetery
  • Wagner Cemetery

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Bland County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.


Historical populations
Census Pop.
1870 4,000
1880 5,004 25.1%
1890 5,129 2.5%
1900 5,497 7.2%
1910 5,154 −6.2%
1920 5,593 8.5%
1930 6,031 7.8%
1940 6,731 11.6%
1950 6,436 −4.4%
1960 5,982 −7.1%
1970 5,423 −9.3%
1980 6,349 17.1%
1990 6,514 2.6%
2000 6,871 5.5%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Chancery Court[edit | edit source]
  • Indexed images of Bland County, Virginia Chancery Records 1874-1928 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. The online indexes continues from 1928 through 1938, but at present does not include images. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[7]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • History of Bland County, Virginia. c1961. By Bland County Centennial Corporation. Radford, Virginia : Bland County Centennial Corporation. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Little Walkers Creek : A History of the Land and Its People. c2005. By Rebecca Cox Sowers. Franklin, Tennessee : American History Imprints. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Maps[edit | edit source]

Radford (Independent City)Giles CountyPulaski CountyWythe CountySmyth CountyTazewell CountyMercer CountyVA BLAND.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

War of 1812[edit | edit source]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, DC : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Bland County, p. 64.
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Bland County men most often served in regiments (and companies) from their home county. At times, however, individuals and small groups can be found serving in regiments from neighboring counties. Later in the war, Confederate units often reorganized.

- 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (Bland Rangers)[8]
- 36th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).
- 45th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Sharpshooters).[9]
- 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[10]
- 51st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (or K).[11]
  • History of Bland County, Virginia. c1961. By Bland County Centennial Corporation. Radford, Virginia : Bland County Centennial Corporation. At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes names of units from this county and a roster of the men who served in these units on pages 259-277.

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Bland County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

  • 1890 - Bland County, Virginia Property Tax Records. 2004. By Denise A. Smith. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Bland County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

Bland County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Bland County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Bland County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.blandcountyva.gov/page/history-of-bland-county/
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bland County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bland County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. Wikipedia Contributors, "Bland County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bland_County, accessed 13 January 2012.
  5. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 4, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  6. USGS Map, Topozone.com
  7. "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
  8. Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
  9. J.L. Scott, 45th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 58.
  10. Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
  11. James A. Davis, 51st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 9; A Guide to Virginia Military Organization 1861-1865, 287.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Online at: https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.