Blackfoot Idaho West Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


The Blackfoot Idaho West Family History Center serves the residents and the descendants of residents of the areas in and surrounding Pingree, Moreland, Thomas, Riverside, and Rockford, Idaho.




Idahoblackfootwestfhc.jpg

Center Contacts and Hours

Location Map:

Address:

  • 101 N 900 W Blackfoot ID 83221 United States
  • Access the center by parking in the north parking lot
  • Use the door that is on the left when facing the building from the north parking lot.
  • Language:English

Phone:

  • 1-208-684-3784

E-mail:

  • ID_BlackfootWest@ldsmail.net

Open Hours:

  • Tuesday:  1:00am-9:00pm
  • Wednesday:  9:00am-9:00pm
  • Thursday:  3:00pm-5:00pm
  • Youth Hours:  Thursday:  7:00pm-8:30pm.  During this shift, youth consultants will be serving at the library, and youth are especially encouraged to attend the center during this time.


Holiday Schedule:

The last week of June and into July to correspond with the closing of the Idaho Falls Temple; December during the Christmas Holiday; the entire week of Thanksgiving; Memorial Day and Labor Day; October 31st for Halloween.


Calendar and Events

December 29, 2017, at 7:00 pm. Training meeting for consultants. Heather McPhie will be teaching how to add sources and refine searches. The public is invited to attend.


Center Resources

Collections

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to receive any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog. Ordering the films is the responsibility of the individual, the films will be sent to the temple and family history consultant - center and can be used at the Center.
  • Center has the Mortuary/Death records for the Hawker Funeral Home and Hill, Sandberg, and Packham; Pioneer Women of Faith and Fortitude, Volumes 1-4; and Pioneers and Prominent Men of Utah, Volumes 1-5; Conquerors of the West, Stalwart Mormon Pioneers, Volumes 1-4; Groveland City Cemetery list through 1990.

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Hardware and Equipment

  • 9 desktop computers with internet access and scanning capabilities
  • 3 microfilm reader
  • 1 microfiche reader
  • printing and copying capabilities

Center Services

Staff Research Specialties

The Center is operated by volunteer Temple and Family History Consultants who will work individually with patrons as time and resources allow. To schedule special events or a large group, contact Lynne Ellis at (208) 680-1241.


Resources in the Local Area

Bingham County Historical Society
33 NW Main Street
Blackfoot, Idaho 83221
Office: (208) 785-9906
Website: www.binghamcountyhistoricalsociety.com

Blackfoot Public Library
129 N Broadway
Blackfoot, Idaho 83221
(208) 785-8628
Website: http://blackfootlibrary.org/index.htm

Bingham County Courthouse
501 N Maple
Blackfoot, Idaho 83221
(208) 782-3160
Website: http://www.co.bingham.id.us/

City of Blackfoot, Idaho
157 N Broadway
Blackfoot, Idaho 83221
(208) 785-8600
Website: http://www.cityofblackfoot.org/


Volunteer at the Center

To Volunteer at the Center, contact Lynne Ellis at (208) 680-1241.


Links

FamilySearch Links:

FamilySearch: Access FamilyTree, FamilySearch Photos and Stories, and FamilySearch Indexed Records. Must establish a free account to access all resources on this site.

FamilySearch Photos:  This is a section of FamilySearch that allows patrons to add photos and stories of their ancestors.  Must establish a free account to access all resources on this site.

FamilySearch Research Wiki: Get research advice and learn how to access record collections.

FamilySearch Blog: FamilySearch's Genealogy and Family History Blog

Other Helpful Links:

FindaRecord:  This research assistant connects to FamilyTree and aids in identifying needed research, missing information, and data errors within the Tree.  Must establish a free FamilySearch account to access this site.

Mormon Pioneer Overland Travel Database:  This database contains the name and traveling company of Mormon pioneers who imigrated to Utah between the years of 1847-1868.

TenGenChart: Using information on FamilyTree, create a black and white ten-generation fan chart.  Must establish a free FamilySearch account to access this site.

TreeSeek.com:  Easily create charts with your data gathered from FamilySearch.org.  Must establish a free FamilySearch account to access this site.

Calculate your relationship to famous people with Brigham Young University's Computer Science Department's Relative Finder.  Must establish a free FamilySearch account to access the site.

Rootsmapper.com:  Gives a visual map of the migration patterns your family has undergone.  A fun way to link geography to family history!

Puzzilla.org:  A wonderful tool for descendancy research!  This program maps the family tree, then maps the collateral roots.  Look for dead ends, cllick, and begin researching in FamilyTree.  

Principles for a Successful Family History Sunday School Class:  A video of a successful Family History Sunday School Class.

Cleaning up your FamilyTree: A quick reference guide to cleaning up your family records.

Google Books: Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

LDS Member Subscription Sites:

To sign up for an LDS Member Subscription site, you must have an LDS Member FamilySearch account that was created with an LDS membership number.  After the LDS Member FamilySearch account is established, visit http://bit.ly/ldsmemberaccess and follow the instructions given on that page. 

Ancestry.com:  The world's largest online history resource.

findmypast.com:  United Kingdom and other international records.

MyHeritage.com:  Powerful search engine specializing in family history searches.

American Research Links:

FindaGrave: Access and search transcriptions and photos of gravestones. Find A Grave is a resource for anyone in finding the final disposition of family, friends, and ‘famous' individuals. All transcriptions and photos are provided by volunteers.

Western States Marriage Index: Search extractions of early marriage records from counties in the western part of the United States.

Eastern Idaho Death Records: Search extractions of Eastern Idaho death records.

Illinois State Archives: Search Illinois marriage records from 1763-1900, search death records from 1916-1950, or death records from pre-1916.

Missouri Birth and Death Records: Search death certificates on file at the Missouri State Archives for deaths occurring between 1910 and 1962. Search pre-1910 birth and death records collected from local county recorders' offices.

Utah Digital Newspapers: Search by keywords through early Utah newspapers. This can be a great source for locating obituaries and death notices.

Utah State Archives: Search the online indexes and make research requests

Canada Library and Archives: Access Canadian records and census images.

European Research Links:

Danish Archives: Access Danish parish and census records. Censuses begin in the 1700s and cover through the 1900s. Danish Parish Records are relatively complete and, as available, cover from the 1600s through the 1900s. There are approximately 1,500,000 Americans of Danish origin or descent. Southeastern Idaho has a particularly large population of Danish Americans

Free BMD: Access the United Kingdom's Civil Registration Records. The recording of births, marriages and deaths was started in 1837 and is one of the most significant resources for genealogical research. This website allows patrons to search transcriptions of the civil registration indexes which contain information for the period 1837-1983.