Bjurholm Parish, Västerbotten, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Västerbotten County
Bjurholm Parish


Guide to Bjurholm Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Bjurholm Church
Bredträsk Chapel
Markuskapellet Bjurholm Chapel

History

The present municipality has the same territory as the one instituted in 1863, when the municipal system was implemented in Sweden. Between 1974 and 1983 it became a part of Vännäs Municipality. The split in 1983 made Bjurholm the least populated of all Swedish municipalities.
[1]

Bjurholm Parish, Västerbotten, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Västerbotten
Landskap add here
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010013
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names

Abborfors, Abbortjärn, Agnäs

Backfors, Balfors, Balsjö, Balåker, Bastuträsk, Berg, Bjurbäck, Bjurholm, Bjurvattnet, Bjurvik, Björknäs, Bracksele, Brattby, Brån, Brännland

Degernäs

Forsnäs

Gravfors, Grännäs

Holmåker, Häggnäs, Högland, Högliden, Högås

Johannesbor

Karlsbäck, Klubbsjö

Lillarmsjö, Lillberg, Ljusåker, Lågsjö, Långnäs, Långvattnet, Långvik

Malmby, Mariebäck, Mellansjö, Mellantjärn, Mellanå, Mjösjö Grannäs

Nordansjö, Nordanås, Nordås, Norrby, Norrfors, Norrnäs, Norrström, Nyby, Nygård, Nyholm, Nyland, Nylunda, Nytorp, Nyåker, Näsland, Näsmark, Nässund

Otternäs, Ottervattne

Provåker

Slätmark, Stensvattnet, Storarmsjö, Storandsjö, Storandsjönäs, Ström, Strömsjöliden, Strömsund, Strömåker, Sunnanå, Söderå, Sörby, Sörfors

Vackerås, Vitvattnet, Vännäs, Västansjö, Västernyliden, Västerås

Åkernäs

Älskanäs, Ängesåker

Överlögdeå, Önskanäs, Öreström, Östervik

Personer utan bestämd vistelseort ( People without a permanent residence)


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västerbotten Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Västerbotten" and then select your parish.


Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Bjurholm parish, Husförhörslängd, 1841-1848, Ort register.