Bistre, Flintshire, Wales Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Bistre, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...
"BISTREE, a township and a chapelry in Mold parish, Flint. The township lies 1 mile N of Llong r. station, and 2 E of Mold. It includes part of Buckley hamlet; which has a post office under Flint. Real property, £3,189. Pop., 1,733. Houses, 372. The chapelry is more extensive than the township; and was constituted in 1844. Pop., 2,347. Houses, 501. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of St. Asaph. Value, £150.* Patron, the Vicar of Mold. The church was built in 1841; sank and became shattered from undermining in coal-works; and was restored in 1861." (Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72, John Marius Wilson)
For more information on Bistre see:
|before 31 March 1974||Flintshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Flintshire|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.
- FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
- findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Bistre Parish Church at Clwyd FHS