Bishopwearmouth St Thomas, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Bishopwearmouth St Thomas, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bishopwearmouth St Thomas, Durham|
|Hundred||Easington; Sunderland Town|
|Poor Law Union||Sunderland|
|Registration District||Easington; Houghton le Spring; Sunderland|
|Parish registers: 1846|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WEARMOUTH (Bishop)( St Thomas), a township and two sub-districts in Sunderland district, and a parish partly also in Easington and Houghton-le-Spring districts, Durham. The township lies on the coast, at the mouth of the River Wear; includes a large portion of Sunderland town; and is all within Sunderland borough. The parish contains also Burdon and Silksworth townships; and is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of B.-W., B.-W.-St. Thomas, B.-W. St. Peter, Ford, Deptford, Ryhope, Hendon, Silksworth, Millfield, and Pullion.
Bishopwearmouth St Thomas was created as a parish in 1844 from parts of the neighbouring parishes of Bishopwearmouth St Michael, Bishopwearmouth St Peter, Hendon St Paul, Monkwearmouth St Cuthbert, Monkwearmouth Venerable Bede and Sunderland Holy Trinity.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Bishopwearmouth St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Bishopwearmouth St Thomas Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Bishopwearmouth St Thomas on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.