Bishopstoke, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Bishopstoke, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Winchester|
|Parish registers: 1657|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Bishopstoke; Post 1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BISHOPSTOKE, a village and a parish in Winchester district, Hants. The village stands on the river Itchen, about a mile E of a station of its own name on the Southwestern railway, whence the branches go off toward Gosport and Salisbury, and 6½ miles NNE of Southampton. It is large and well built, constructed in 1852; and has a post office under Winchester. There is a Wesleyan chapel..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Bishopstoke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|BISHOPSTOKE PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Contributor, Caswall, Veronica. Letter of the First Chief Justice Sewall to His Son, Samuel Sewall , Esq.of Brookline, Giving an Account of his Family. This letter was written in April, 1720, from Boston, USA. and talks of the family in U.K. and USA. Some also moved from Coventry to Hampshire. Article covers from 1634-1672. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XI, no. 3. pages 149-150. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Whitlock Family Tree. A Family tree starting with Stephen Whitlock, born 1766 and showing all his descendants up to 1983. Some in the parish of Bishopstoke, Bursledon, Hound, Hursley, Soton, Stoneham, and Australia. Article to be found in The hampshire Family Historian, Vol.X.no.2, Aug.1983,page 65, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 20 June 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
- 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.