Bishopsteignton, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Bishopsteignton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Newton Abbot|
|Registration District||Newton Abbot|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
TEIGNTON, BISHOP'S (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Exminster, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon,1¾ mile (W. by N.) from West Teignmouth. The church, which has been lately renovated and repewed, is principally in the Norman style, with an enriched western doorway in excellent preservation; near it are the remains of an ancient chapel, and there was formerly a chapel at Venn, in the parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Bishopsteignton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Bishopsteignton Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Devon Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Plymouth Brethren
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
Bishopsteignton on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-314. Date accessed: 24 October 2013.