To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bishopsbourne, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bishopsbourne, Kent)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bishopsbourne

Guide to Bishopsbourne, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Bishopsbourne, Kent
Bishopsbourne St Mary Kent.jpg
Bishopsbourne St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kinghamford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Parish History[edit | edit source]

BISHOP'S BOURNE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Kinghamford, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 4 miles SE by S from Canterbury. [1]

Bishopsbourne is a village and civil parish in the Canterbury district of Kent see Bishopsbourne Wikipedia

Bishopsbourne St Mary is and Ancient parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you. The parish is part of a group which includes Barham, Kent, Kingston, Kent and Womenswold, Kent

The Church of St Mary, Crowscamp Road, Bishopsbourne has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building.

See also Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 328-337 at British History Online Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Bishopsbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Bishopsbourne Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1561-1886 1561-1886 1540-1909; 1754-1899 (Banns) 1540-1909; 1754-1899 (Banns) 1571-1813 1571-1813

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Bishopsbourne are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1830

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Bishopsbourne 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-267. Date accessed: 1 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.