Birstall, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Birstall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Birstall, Yorkshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Dewsbury
Registration District Bradford; Dewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History[edit | edit source]

BIRSTAL (St. Peter), a parish, partly in the union of Bradford, and partly in that of Dewsbury, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 7 miles (S. W.) from Leeds, on the road to Huddersfield; containing 29,723 inhabitants. This parish comprises...about 13,000 acres, and includes the chapelries of Cleckheaton, Drighlington, Liversedge, and Tong, and the townships of Gomersal, Heckmondwike, Hunsworth, and Wyke.There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Independents, Moravians, and Methodists of the New Connexion.[1]

This was a large boundaried parish with several chapelries, each with their own parish (chapel) registers of christenings, burials and occasional marriages. Check the Familysearch.org/search/catalog to find digitized copies of these registers. For convenience,see the links to online indexes and to images of the original church registers listed below under "Church Records".

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Birstall Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Yorkshire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Find My Past Bishop's Transcripts-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Banns-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry Church of England (Early)-West Riding ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry Church of England (Late)-West Riding ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1900s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-267. Date accessed: 03 January 2014.