Birkin, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Birkin, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Pontefract|
|Registration District||Pontefract; Selby|
|Parish registers: 1649|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1631|
|Rural Deanery||New Ainsty|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BIRKIN (St. Mary), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of Birkin, West Haddlesey, Chapel- Haddlesey, Temple-Hurst, and Hurst-Courtney; A chapel of ease was erected, in 1836, at Chapel Haddlesey, The Wesleyan Methodists have small places of worship at Chapel Haddlesey and Temple-Hurst.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from the parish registers of Birkin exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= findmypast - (£)|
FS = FamilySearch.org
|BIRKIN PARISH (1651) Online Records|
|FS|| 1651-1699, 1718-1873
|| 1654-1698, 1718-1901
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1649.
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 23 December 2013.
- 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.