Birkenhead All Saints, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Birkenhead All Saints, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Birkenhead All Saints, Cheshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wirral|
|Parish registers: 1888|
|Bishop's Transcripts: NONE|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Birkenhead, All Saints, Shrewsbury Road. Built originally in 1879 as a chapelry, became a separate parish from 1911 serving parts of Birkenhead, Bidston and Oxton; closed in 1971.
BIRKENHEAD is a seaport town, a market town, and a township, and a parochial chapel over seven separate chapelries, created originally from the ancient parish of Bidston (which also see), in the district of Wirral, Cheshire. The town stands on the Mersey, opposite Liverpool, about a mile by water west of Liverpool, and 14 3/4 miles by railway north by northwest of Chester. It comprises the ancient extra parochial district or chapelry of Birkenhead and the following chapelries attached to it:
- All Saints - 1879
- St Mary - 1719
- Holy Trinity - 1840
- St Anne - 1850
- St James - 1865
- St John - 1859
- St Matthew - 1889
- St Paul - 1863
- St Peter - 1867
- Mariner's Chapel - (by) 1847
Part of the parochial boundary of Birkenhead Chapelry includes the former township of Claughton, in Bidston ancient parish, and part of Oxton Township, in Woodchurch ancient parish (which also see). These two townships have been incorporated into the township and chapelry of Birkenhead.
There are upwards of thirty non-established places of worship (including Claughton and Oxton). There are two Roman Catholic churches. Birkenhead All Saints was built in 1879 as a chapel to Oxton (St Saviour). 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Birkenhead All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Birkenhead All Saints Parish (1888) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
|FS BT'S||NONE|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for the St. Bede's and All Saints' Church, Birkenhead, 1910-1959 Cheshire Record Office reference: P83/1, P83/2/1-4.
|Parish Registers: St. Bede's and All Saints' Church, Birkenhead||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, 1910-1947. Marriages, 1911-1959.||BRITISH 2301157 Items 10 - 14|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Birkenhead All Saints on GENUKI