To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Birkeland Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Birkeland, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Birkeland Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Fane
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Fane
Fogderi Nordhordland
Sorenskriveri Midthordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Birkeland clerical district contains  parish registers for Birkeland parish. It was separated from Fana clerical district in 1948. For earlier records see Fana clerical district. Records available from 1853-1923.


Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Fana/Birkeland: 1712-1944

For earlier records see Fana

Census Records[edit | edit source]

See Fana

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

29 Bjørgen, 2 Bratland nedre, 20 Bønes,

34 Dolvik, 53 Dyngjeland nedre,

52 Engeset, 4 Erdal,

12 Fantoft, 31 Festerviken, 56 Fjeld-Birkeland, 16 Fjøsanger, 62 Frotveit, 23 Fyllingen nedre,

14 Gamlehaugen, 61 Gimmeland, 5 Grimen, 30 Grimstad, 18 Grønstølen,

33 Hammersland, 37 Haukeland, 6 Heldal, 26 Helgepladset, 60 Henne, 41 Hop, 32 Hope ytre,

50 Kirke-Birkeland, 28 Knappen, 19 Kraakenes, 26 Krohngaarden,

23 Lauaasen, 25 Laustakken, 47 Lilletveiten, 55 Ljøsvold, 24 Lynghaugen,

43 Midtun store, 51 Milleshaug, 54 Myrdal, 22 Myren,

10 Natland nedre, 35 Neset ,41 Neset, 42 Nesttun, 36 Nordeide, 45 Nordrevold, 17 Nygaard, 15 Nyhaugen,

59 Riple 8,

Sandal, 40 Skjold, 48 Smøraas, 39 Stensvik, 21 Strømme, 7 Sædal, 22 Sælen, 3 Søilen, 35 Søreide, 38 Søvik,

27 Tjønnen, 57 Totland nedre, 13 Tveit store, 9 Tveiteraas,

46 Ulsmaag,

49 Valle,

44 Øfsttun

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1702-1848: Records are found in Nordhordaland, 1702-1910 judicial district.

1848-1895: Records are found in Midhordaland judicial district which was created from Nordhordaland.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names