Bincombe, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Bincombe

Guide to Bincombe, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bincombe, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Frampton Liberty
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Weymouth
Registration District Weymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor and Liberty of Frampton
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

BINCOMBE, a parish in Weymouth district, Dorset; on the river Wey, on the Southwestern railway, and on the downs, 4½ miles S by W of Dorchester r. station. Post Town, Dorchester. Acres, 977. Real property, £1,035.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bincombe, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1650
1650
1650
Images
1650-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1732-1905 OnlineParishClerks 1735-1948 OnlineParishClerks 1731-1975 OnlineParishClerks
1735-1837 Joiner[6]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 03 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.