Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel

Guide to Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel, Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Walshcroft
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Louth
Registration District Louth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688; Separate registers exist for Binbrook St Mary beginning 1694
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561; Separate records exist for Binbrook St Mary beginning 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walshcroft
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lincoln; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BINBROOKE, a district (formerly a market town) comprising the parishes of St. Gabriel and St. Mary, in the union of Louth, S. division of the wapentake of Walshcroft, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (E. N. E.) from Market-Rasen. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Lincolnshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1990 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Lincolnshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Lincolnshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr Index = Lincolnshire Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1990
1538-1990
1538-1990
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1911
1537-1911
1537-1970
FMP Banns

1647-1911


FMP Marr Index

1700-1837


FMP Marr

1628-1837


JOIN

1813-1837


NBI



1754-2002
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Binbrook Par 1, Binbrook St Gabriel Par1, Binbrook St Mary Par 1 will identify available images for registers.


Search FamilySearch Catalogue Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Louth Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Binbrook/


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 244-248. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk