Biggin, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Biggin, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Biggin St Thomas Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Ashbourne|
|Parish registers: 1848|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1848|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Hartington|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
BIGGIN, a township and a chapelry in Ashborne district, Derby. The township is in Wirksworth parish; and lies near the Cromford and High Park railway, 7½ miles SW of Bakewell r. station. The chapelry was constituted in 1848. Post Town, Ashborne. Pop., 399. Houses, 84. There are two Primitive Methodist chapels and a national school. 
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Biggin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Biggin Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Derbyshire Record Office.
- Primitive Methodist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Biggin on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 237-241. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.