Big Horn County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Montana
Big Horn County

Guide to Big Horn County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Hardin
Organized: January 13, 1913
Parent County(s): Rosebud and Yellowstone[1]
Neighboring Counties
Big Horn (WY)  • Carbon  • Powder River  • Rosebud  • Sheridan (WY)  • Treasure  • Yellowstone
See County Maps
Courthouse
MontanaBigHornCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Big Horn County.jpg
Adoption



County Information

Description

Big Horn County, Montana was founded in 1864 and the county seat is Hardin. [2] It is located in the southeastern area of the state. The county was named for the bighorn sheep in the Rocky Mountains. [3]

County Courthouse

Big Horn County Courthouse
121 3rd Street West
Hardin, MT 59034
Phone: 406.665.1506
Big Horn County website

County Clerk has birth, death, naturalization and land records from 1913.
Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records[4]

Big Horn County, Montana Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913* 1913* 1913* 1913 1913 1913 1860
*State birth and death records began in 1907.
Compliance for recording births was 1922 and 1915 for deaths.[6]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia: [8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places

Indian Reservation
The Crow Indian Reservation is primarily located in Big Horn County, with a smaller portion in Yellowstone County.

The Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation is about equally divided in land area between Big Horn County and Rosebud County.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Big Horn County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1920 7,015
1930 8,543 21.8%
1940 10,419 22.0%
1950 9,824 −5.7%
1960 10,007 1.9%
1970 10,057 0.5%
1980 11,096 10.3%
1990 11,337 2.2%
2000 12,671 11.8%
2010 12,865 1.5%
Source: [1]

Before Montana was a state in 1889, the western portion of Montana was included in the 1860 Washington Territory and the eastern was in the unorganized parts of 1860 Nebraska Territory. The 1870 and 1880 Federal Censuses included Montana Territory. No state censuses have been taken.[9] See links listed below.

Territory and State Censuses

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Montana starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Big Horn County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

  • The Custer Battle: Brief Story of Indian Who Fought There; Combined with Three Poems by White Eagle. c1916. By Two Moons. N.p:n.p. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Trails and Tales, South of the Yellowstone: An Unrecorded History of the Area South of Billings and the Yellowstone River. c1983. By Trails and Tales Historical Committee. Billings, Montana: Trails and Tales Historical Committee. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Big Horn CountyPowder River CountyRosebud CountyTreasure CountyYellowstone CountyCarbon CountyBig Horn County, WyomingSheridan County, WyomingMT Bighorn.png
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Montana. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Montana Military Records.
Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Records

Newspapers

For more information, see Montana Newspapers.


Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Big Horn - Probate records.

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Big Horn County Historical Society
Ih 90
Hardin, Mt., 59034
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/bighorn/ accessed 11/15/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Horn_County,_Montana accessed 11/15/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 415.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Big Horn County, Montana. Page 415 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 106.
  6. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 439.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Big Horn County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Horn_County,_Montana, accessed 5 December 2016.
  9. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 409. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.