Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Louisiana
Bienville Parish

Guide to Bienville Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Bienville Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Bienville Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 14, 1848
County Seat Arcadia
Courthouse
Bienville Parish, Louisiana.jpg
Address 100 Court House Drive
Arcadia, LA 71001
Website: clerk.bienvilleparish.org
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Bienville Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 


Parish Information

Bienville Parish, Louisiana Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major Parish Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1848 1810 1848 1848

Parish Courthouse

Bienville Parish Courthouse
300 Courthouse Square
PO Box 746
Arcadia, LA 71001
Phone: 318.263.2123

Parish Clerk has marriage , divorce,
probate and court records from 1848 .[2]

History

Parent Parish

  • 1848--Bienville Parish was created 14 March 1848 from Claiborne Parish.
    Parish seat: Arcadia [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Labienville.png

Resources

African American

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Bienville, Louisiana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the Parish
See Louisiana Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Bienville Parish cemeteries.

Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.

Maps

Military

War of 1812
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Companies E and F
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records  ~  information on.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

Bienville Historical Society
Rt 1, Box 9
Bienville 71008-9653

Mt. Lebon Historical Society
517
Gibsland LA 71028
Telephone: 318-843-1998

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

Thanks to the Bienville Parish Wiki Contributors

Contributors are people who write and edit the pages for FamilySearch Wiki. Thanks to the following contributors for helping to build this page (in alpha order). Anyone is invited to be a contributor. Help grow the wiki and add content to this parish today!

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 264-278. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Bienville Parish, Louisiana p. 289 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).