Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Bienville Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bienville Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 14, 1848|
|Address|| 100 Court House Drive|
Arcadia, LA 71001
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Bible Records
- 5.3 Biographies
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 Thanks to the Bienville Parish Wiki Contributors
- 9 References
The County was named for Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne de Bienville. The County has Arcadia as its seat and the County was created March 14, 1848. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.
Bienville Parish, Louisiana Record Dates
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- 1860 - Largest Slaveholders of Bienville Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Bienville Parish Bible Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bienville Parish, Louisiana, Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Bienville Parish Biography Records (USGenWeb Archives)
The following web sites may have additional information on Bienville Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
- 1850 Bienville Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Census Images ~ USGenWeb Census Images Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Bienville Parish Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Bienville Parish Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Local histories are available for Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- History of Bienville Parish (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Historical Records of Bienville Parish. Includes school records, family histories, etc. (USGenWeb Archives)
- History of Bienville Parish by Sharon O. Kleinpeter (USGenWeb Project)
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Family Maps of Bienville Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection ~ USGenWeb Project
- Louisiana Military History Online
- Some Military Land Grants In Bienville Parish Louisiana For Soldiers Of The Indian Wars (USGenWeb Archives)
War of 1812
- Some Military Land Grants In Bienville Parish Louisiana For Soldiers Of The War Of 1812 (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index +
- 1883 - Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883, Bienville Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — images
- 1890 - Veteran Census, Bienville Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Civil War Soldiers, Bienville Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
Regiments. Service men in Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy:
- - 2nd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Companies E and F
World War I
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Index to Bienville Parish News Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to Obituaries, Bienville Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- Obituaries and Death Notices, Bienville Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Louisiana Probate Records ~ information on.
Online Probate Records
- 1756-1984 - Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry.com Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1850-1932 - Index to the Bienville Parish, Louisiana, Will Book, 1850-1932 (USGenWeb Project)
- Index to Wills Records, Bienville Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- Bienville Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1849-1872 - Bienville Parish Marriage Book A & B; 1849-1872 (USGenWeb Project)
- 1849-1886 - Index to Bienville Parish Marriage Records (Genealogy Trails)
- Bienville Parish Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1850 - 1850 Mortality Census Schedule (Genealogy Trails)
- 1870 - 1870 Mortality Schedule (Genealogy Trails)
- 1880 - 1880 Mortality Schedule (Genealogy Trails)
Societies and Libraries
Bienville Historical Society
Rt 1, Box 9
Mt. Lebon Historical Society
Gibsland LA 71028
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Bienville Parish, LA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Bienville Parish, LAGenWeb Project
- Bienville Parish, Louisiana Archives, USGenWeb Archives Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Bienville Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Genealogy Trails: Bienville Parish, Louisiana
- Bienville Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
Thanks to the Bienville Parish Wiki Contributors
Contributors are people who write and edit the pages for FamilySearch Wiki. Thanks to the following contributors for helping to build this page (in alpha order). Anyone is invited to be a contributor. Help grow the wiki and add content to this parish today!
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bienville, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bienville_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bienville Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Bienville Parish, Louisiana p. 289 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).