To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bicton, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Bicton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bicton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Budleigh
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1620
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BICTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of St. Thomas, hundred of East Budleigh, Woodbury and S. divisions of Devon.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1620-1639) are online at Internet Archive - free.[2]

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1631) are online at Internet Archive - free.[2]

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites[edit | edit source]

Bicton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 233-237. Date accessed: 24 October 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.