To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bickerton, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bickerton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bickerton, Cheshire
Holy Trinity Church, Bickerton, Cheshire, England.jpg
Holy Trinity Church, Bickerton, Cheshire, England
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: 1847
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malpas
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BICKERTON, is a township and a chapelry in Malpas parish, Cheshire. The township lies 4 miles S of Beeston railway station, and 5 NE of Malpas; and has a post office under Whitchurch. The chapelry is more extensive than the township; and was constituted in 1843.[1]

Bickerton Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1840 from  Malpas, Cheshire Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Broxton, Bulkeley, Duckington, Egerton, and Larkton.

Bickerton is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England, about eight miles (13 km) north of Whitchurch in Shropshire. The parish also includes the small settlement of Gallantry Bank. Bickerton appears in the Domesday survey as Bicretone. It was owned by Drogo from Robert FitzHugh, baron of Malpas, and was found waste at the time of the survey. Woodland extending to half a league (about ¾ mile) was recorded. The name is Anglo-Saxon in origin, and relates to bees.

Holy Trinity Church, Bickerton stands to the north of the village of Bickerton, Cheshire, England The church is a Grade II listed building. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester, and the deanery of Malpas. Its benefice is combined with those of St Wenefrede's Church, Bickley , St John's Church,  Burwardsley, Cheshire and All Saints Church, Harthill, Cheshire.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Bickerton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Bickerton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton & Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Nantwich Poor Law Union

Whitchurch Incorporation Poor Law Union, Shropshire Duckington and Larkton

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Bickerton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 2 February 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.