Bibb County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bibb County, Georgia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bibb County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Macon
Organized: December 9, 1822
Parent County(s): Jones, Monroe, Twiggs, Houston[1]
Neighboring Counties
Crawford  • Houston  • Jones  • Monroe  • Peach  • Twiggs
See County Maps
Courthouse
Bibb county courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Bibb County Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for William Wyatt Bibb. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bibb County Courthouse
601 Mulberry Street
Macon, GA 31201-2672
Phone: 912-749-6527
Bibb County Website

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records.
Probate Court has marriage and probate records.
County Clerk has divorce, court and land records from 1823.[3]

Bibb County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1823 1919 1823 1823 1823 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

See Georgia Counties: Their Changing Boundaries

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bibb, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Bibb County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 7,154
1840 9,802 37.0%
1850 12,699 29.6%
1860 16,291 28.3%
1870 21,255 30.5%
1880 27,147 27.7%
1890 42,370 56.1%
1900 50,473 19.1%
1910 56,646 12.2%
1920 71,304 25.9%
1930 77,042 8.0%
1940 83,783 8.7%
1950 114,079 36.2%
1960 141,249 23.8%
1970 143,418 1.5%
1980 150,256 4.8%
1990 149,967 −0.2%
2000 153,887 2.6%
2010 155,547 1.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
First Macon Baptist Church Membership Rolls 1830-1874 and 1839. [1] Georgia Pioneers ($)

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Macon

Episcopal
Christ Church Parish, Macon

  • Hart, Oliver J. The History of Christ Church Parish, Macon, Georgia: March 5th 1825, March 5th, 1925. Macon, Ga.: Lyon, Harris & Brooks, Printers and Binders, 1925. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon

  • 1861-1903 St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon, Baptism Index 1861-1903. Batch C712161 at FamilySearch
  • 1861-1903 St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon, Marriage Index 1861-1903. Batch M712161 at FamilySearch
  • 1861-1903 St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon, Death Index 1861-1903. Batch B003552 at FamilySearch

St. Paul's Church, Macon

  • 1870-1959 St. Paul's Church, Macon, Baptism Index 1870-1959. Batch C712171 at FamilySearch

Methodist
Park Memorial Methodist Church, Arkwright

  • 1893-1958 Park Memorial Methodist Church, Arkwright, Baptism Index 1893-1958. Batch C712131 at FamilySearch
  • 1891-1895 Park Memorial Methodist Church, Arkwright, Marriage Index 1891-1895. Batch M712131 at FamilySearch

Vineville Methodist Church, Macon

  • 1891-1937 Vineville Methodist Church, Macon, Baptism Index 1891-1937. Batch C712181 at FamilySearch
  • 1891-1895 Vineville Methodist Church, Macon, Marriage Index 1891-1895. Batch M712181 at FamilySearch

Methodist Episcopal
Wilma Methodist Episcopal Church

  • 1856-1885 Wilma Methodist Episcopal Church Baptism Index 1856-1885. Batch C712091 at FamilySearch

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

  • 1865-1875 Bibb County Colored Marriage Books A and B Index 1865-1874. Batch M712118 at FamilySearch
  • 1874-1882 Bibb County Colored Marriage Book C Index 1874-1882. Batch M712119 at FamilySearch
  • 1882-1909 Bibb County Colored Marriage Books D and E Index 1882-1909. Batch M712121 at FamilySearch
  • 1892-1899 Bibb County Colored Marriage Books F and G Index 1892-1899. Batch M712122 at FamilySearch
  • 1899-1906 Bibb County Colored Marriage Books H and I Index 1899-1906. Batch M712123 at FamilySearch

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Bibb County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Butler, John C. Historical Record of Macon and Central Georgia, Containing Many Interesting and Valuable Reminiscences Connected with the Whole State, Including Numerous Incidents and Facts Never Before Published and of Great Historic Value. Macon, GA, USA: J. W. Burke, 1879. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Monroe CountyJones CountyTwiggs CountyHouston CountyPeach CountyCrawford CountyGA BIBB.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Bibb County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bibb County:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company M
- 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 10th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 20th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 28th Battalion, Georgia Siege Artillery (Confederate) , Company D and G
- 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 30th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 45th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 59th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, G, and H
- 66th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A and D


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Macon birth records since 1891 are available from:

Bibb County Health Department
171 Emery Highway
Macon, GA 31217
Website

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]


Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Bibb County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bibb_County,_Georgia accessed 1 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bibb County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Bibb County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bibb_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 29 January 2019.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.