Beverley Saint Nicholas, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Beverley Saint Nicholas, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Beverley Saint Nicholas, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Beverly|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Beverley St Nicholas beginning 1601|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Provost of the Collegiate Church of St John, Beverley|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BEVERLEY, a town, four parishes, a sub-district, and a district in E. R. Yorkshire. St. Nicholas' parish Pop., 1,410. Houses, 337. 
BEVERLEY, a borough, market-town, and the head of a union, in the E. riding of York, 9 miles (N. W.) from Hull, 29 (E. S. E.) from York, and 183 (N.) from London; comprising the parishes of St. John, St. Martin, St. Mary, and St. Nicholas, the first of which includes the townships of Aike, Eske, Molescroft, Storkhill with Sandholme, Thearne, Tickton with Hull-Bridge, Weel, and Woodmansey with Beverley-Park; and containing 8759 inhabitants. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from parish registers of Beverley St Mary and St Nicholas exist at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BEVERLEY ST MARY with ST NICHOLAS (1629) Online Records|
|FMP (£)|| None
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1882.
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.