Beverley Saint Nicholas, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley Saint Nicholas

Guide to Beverley Saint Nicholas, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beverley Saint Nicholas, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beverley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Beverly
Registration District Beverley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Beverley St Nicholas beginning 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Provost of the Collegiate Church of St John, Beverley
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

BEVERLEY, a town, four parishes, a sub-district, and a district in E. R. Yorkshire. St. Nicholas' parish Pop., 1,410. Houses, 337. [1]

BEVERLEY, a borough, market-town, and the head of a union, in the E. riding of York, 9 miles (N. W.) from Hull, 29 (E. S. E.) from York, and 183 (N.) from London; comprising the parishes of St. John, St. Martin, St. Mary, and St. Nicholas, the first of which includes the townships of Aike, Eske, Molescroft, Storkhill with Sandholme, Thearne, Tickton with Hull-Bridge, Weel, and Woodmansey with Beverley-Park; and containing 8759 inhabitants. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Beverley Saint Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Beverley Saint Nicholas Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1780-1841
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the The Treasure House (location of the East Riding Archives and Local Studies Service).

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-1872 Adapted. Date Accessed 3 January 2014.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 223-228. Adapted. Date accessed: 03 January 2014.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk