Bethnal Green St Matthew, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bethnal Green St Matthew

Guide to Bethnal Green St Matthew, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bethnal Green St Matthew, Middlesex
Stmatthewsbethnalgreen.jpg
Stmatthewsbethnalgreen
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Bethnal Green
Registration District Bethnal Green
Records begin
Parish registers: 1746
Bishop's Transcripts: 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BETHNAL-GREEN (St. Matthew), an ancient parish, was built by 1743, in the borough of the Tower Hamlets, Tower division in the Ossulstone Hundred, county of Middlesex. It lay about 2.5 miles northeast by east of St. Paul Cathedral. Also see the districts called Church, Green, Hackney Road, and Town divisions.[1]

By 1870, there were upwards of 16 churches associated with and coming under the jurisdiction of this civil parish. There were also churches established for Baptists, Independents, Methodists and others.[2]

The "Victoria County History" of Bethnal Green (1998) is available online. It includes chapters on estates, economic history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, Judaism, Buddhism, education and charities for the poor.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Bethnal Green St Matthew Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past (Westminster)-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past Banns-Middlesex ($)
-
-
-
1700s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Early) ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Late) ($)
1800s-1900s
-
1700s-1900s
-
1800s-2000s
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds and Allegations-London and Surrey ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1600 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1640 Protestation Return[edit | edit source]

  • Stepney (including Limehouse, Poplar, Blackwall, Old Ford, Stratford Bow, Spitalfields, Bethnal Green, Mile-End, St. Leonard Bromley, and Ratcliffe) (House of Lords), Copy: FHL Film 1550096 item 25.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Union[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel Lewis, ed. "Besford - Beverley," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 223-228. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here. Adapted.
  3. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 11: Stepney, Bethnal Green (2004). URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=92 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.