Bethnal Green Jews' Episcopal Chapel, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bethnal Green Jews' Episcopal Chapel

Guide to Bethnal Green Jews' Episcopal Chapel, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Bethnal Green Jews' Episcopal Chapel, located on Old Nichol Street, was the first Episcopal chapel to be built within the boundaries of St Matthew's Bethnal Green Parish, in the year 1814. An episcopal chapel built in 1814 by the Society for Promoting Christianity among the Jews. It was closed in 1895 and later became Holy Trinity.[1]

BETHNAL GREEN, a part of Tower Hamlets borough, London; it is 2 miles NE by E of St. Paul's. The Jews' Episcopal chapel, is attached to the London Society for Promoting Christianity among the Jews.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Behnal Green Jews' Episcopal Chapel Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past (Westminster)-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past Banns-Middlesex ($)
-
-
-
1700s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Early) ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Late) ($)
1800s-1900s
-
1700s-1900s
-
1800s-2000s
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds and Allegations-London and Surrey ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Behnal Green Jews' Episcopal Chapel in Bethnal Green on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. T.F.T. Baker. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 11: Stepney, Bethnal Green (1998) Adapted. Date accessed. 31 December 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1871-72) Adapted. Date accessed: 31 December 2013.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.