Bethel Census Area, Alaska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bethel Census Area, Alaska Genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Bethel Census Area, Alaska
Map
Map of Alaska highlighting Bethel Census Area
Location in the state of Alaska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alaska
Location of Alaska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1980
County Seat No borough seat
Courthouse


Description[edit | edit source]

The census area was created in 1980 as part of Alaska's Unorganized Borough. It has no borough seat. This census area is located in the southewestern part of the state.[1]

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this census area.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Boroughs and Census Areas[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[2]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bethel, Alaska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the Census Area
See Alaska Cemeteries for more information

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1960 5,537
1970 7,579 36.9%
1980 10,999 45.1%
1990 13,656 24.2%
2000 16,006 17.2%
2010 17,013 6.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Kusilvak Census AreaYukon-Koyukuk Census AreaMatanuska-Susitna BoroughKenai Peninsula BoroughLake and Peninsula BoroughDillingham Census AreaAK BETHEL CENSUS AREA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Bethel Census Area, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bethel_Census_Area,_Alaska 18 June 2018.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Bethel Census Area, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bethel_Census_Area,_Alaska, accessed 25 February 2019.