Beswick, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Beswick, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beswick, Lancashire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Manchester
Registration District Manchester
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Parish History

BESWICK, an extra-parochial district, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 1½ mile (E.) from Manchester. This place, which comprises 95 acres, and which at the beginning of the nineteenth century had only one solitary house, is indebted for its present extent and increase in population, to its contiguity to the town of Manchester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Church Records


Beswick, Lancashire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
Beswick, Lancashire Genealogy Church Record Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1878-1914 1879-1930

Census Records

Poor Law Unions

Probate

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

Beswick on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 29 August 2013.