Besthorpe, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Besthorpe, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Besthorpe Holy Trinity Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Newark|
|Parish registers: None; For records see South Scarle|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BESTHORPE, a chapelry, in the parish of South Scarle, union, and N. division of the wapentake of Newark, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8 miles (N. N. E.) from Newark. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Besthorpe Holy Trinity was formed as a chapelry to South Scarle, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish.
The church dates from 1844 and has been designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building.
The village and civil parish is in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottingham and is north of Newark on Trent with North Collingham, Nottinghamshire to the south and lies near the River Trent.Besthorpe Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Certificates can be obtained from:
The Register Office
Church records[edit | edit source]
Besthorpe Chapel Holy Trinity see also South Scarle, Nottinghamshire Church records
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1847-1881
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Besthorpe
Besthorpe - Holy Trinity. An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church, dating from 1850, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 70, pages 15-16, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.