Bertie County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Bertie County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bertie County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church Records
- 4.4 Court
- 4.5 Family Histories
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Migration
- 4.10 Military
- 4.11 Newspapers
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Obituaries
- 4.14 Taxation
- 4.15 Vital Records
- 4.16 Yearbooks
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Bertie County, North Carolina
108 W Dundee Street
Windsor, NR 27983-1208
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records,
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1869
& probate records from 1763
Register of Deeds
PO Box 340
Windsor, NC 27910
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 370
Windsor, NC 27983
Telephone: (252) 794-6800
The county was formed as Bertie Precinct in 1722 from the part of Chowan Precinct of Albemarle County lying west of the Chowan River. It was named for James Bertie, his brother Henry Bertie, or perhaps both, each having been one of the Lords Proprietors of Carolina.
In 1729 parts of Bertie Precinct, Chowan Precinct, Currituck Precinct, and Pasquotank Precinct of Albemarle County were combined to form Tyrrell Precinct. With the abolition of Albemarle County in 1739, all of its constituent precincts became separate counties. In 1741 parts of Bertie County became Edgecombe County and Northampton County. Finally, in 1759 parts of Bertie County, Chowan County, and Northampton County were combined to form Hertford County, and Bertie was reduced to its present size.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Bertie County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Cashie, near Windsor, N.C. Constituted 1771.
- Joshua Freeman's, near Wiccacon. Established by 1786.
- Sandy Run. Constituted 1773.
- Wiccacon on the Chowan River. Established by 1772.
- Wickicoan Creek. Established 1789.
Church of England
- [Boddie] Leary, Helen F.M. "The Two William Boddies of North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):16-29; Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):106-110; Vol. 66, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):148-153. Available at FHL.
Early migration routes to and from Bertie County for European settlers included:
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
Regiments. Service men in Bertie County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bertie County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
- -5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company H
- - 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Light Artillery, Company E
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company D
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company F
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company I
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $]
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Bertie County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1761 - 1961 - Will Books A to O (1761-1961) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Bertie County Estate Records -indexed by Names
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- Pre - 1799 - North Carolina Marriages to 1799, database North Carolina Pioneers $$
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 – 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1762 - 1868 - Marriages of Bertie County 1762-1868 at World Vital Records ($).
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1774 - 1854 - Bertie County Marriages 1774-1854 North Carolina Pioneers $$
- 1851 - 1968 - Bertie County Marriage Index 1851-1968 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Bertie County students at NC colleges - list via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Bertie County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Bertie County - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Bertie County at Our Family Tree
- North Carolina Pioneers North Carolina Pioneers $
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bertie County, North Carolina p. 506. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:475, 485, 488; 2:561. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), 414, 501. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.