Bernalillo County, New Mexico Genealogy
Guide to Bernalillo County, New Mexico ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Bernalillo County was founded in 1852. The county name is derived from one of the early Franciscan friars laboring in the province. Albuquerque has been the county seat. Georgraphically the county lies near the center of the State.
Bernalillo County Courthouse
1 Civic Plaza NW
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Bernalillo County Website
County Clerk has marriage records from 1885, probate records from 1895 and land records from 1888;
District Court Clerk has divorce and court records.
Bernalillo County, New Mexico Record Dates
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The following are locations in Bernalillo County, New Mexico:
- Albuquerque (county seat)
- Los Ranchos de Albuquerque
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.
State Census Records
- 1885 New Mexico Territorial Census 1885 at Ancestry(free)
- Late 1800s 1800s Arizona and New Mexico Territories Census, Late 1800s ($)
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry- index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863 - 1908 - U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
Local histories are available for Bernalillo County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of New Mexico - shows boundary changes for New Mexico Counties
- NMGenWeb - historical maps
- 1775 - 1783 - United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - images only
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
- 1861 - 1865 - New Mexico Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - New Mexico, World War I Records, 1917-1919 at Ancestry($)
- For more natiowide World War I databases, see US Military OnlineGenealogy Records.
World War II
- 1941 - 1945 - World War II Records, 1941-1945 State Summary of War Casualties from World War II for Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 - World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 - New Mexico, World War II Records, 1941-1945 at Ancestry($)
- For more nationwide World War II databases, see US Military Online Genealogy.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of Albuquerque and Santa Fe newspapers online. Their database is sometimes free at libraries.
Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.
See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.
The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.
Online Probate Records
New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.
Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office
Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court
Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.
- 1727 - 1900 New Mexico Marriages 1727-1900 at Ancestry($)
- 1751 - 1918 New Mexico Marriages, 1751-1918 at FamilySearch
- 1788 – 1798; 1838 – 1955 New Mexico Deaths and Burials, 1788-1798; 1838-1955 at FamilySearch
- 1889 - 1945 New Mexico Deaths, 1889-1945 at FamilySearch
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- Albuquerque New Mexico in Albuquerque, New Mexico
- Albuquerque New Mexico East in Albuquerque, New Mexico
- Albuquerque New Mexico West in Albuquerque, New Mexico
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Zimmerman Library at University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, New Mexico
Albuquerque Historical Society
PO Box 1293
Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87125
- Bernalillo County, NM History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Bernalillo County, NMGenWeb County Burials, Census, Marriages, Yearbooks, Bibliography, Cemeteries, cities, maps, and photos for this county.
- Bernalillo County Genealogy at New Mexico Genealogy
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- http://genealogytrails.com/newmex/bernalillo/history.html accessed 09/29/2016
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Mexico.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bernalillo County, New Mexico. Page 472 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 470.
- "Courts and Judicial Powers, Sec. 5” Kearny Code: Laws for the Government of the Territory of New Mexico, September 22, 1846 (Santa Fe, N. Mex.: S. W. Kearny, 1846), 47. Digital online edition.
- Kearny's Code 1846, "Courts and Judicial Powers,” secs. 5-7/p. 49; Abel, Map #2; Coan, 252; Williams, 108-109
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 291
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, pp. 664-665; Van Zandt, 165
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1875-1876, 22d assy., ch. 8/pp. 38-40
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1899, 33d assy., ch. 19/pp. 43-45
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1903, 35th assy., ch. 27/pp. 37-43
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1903, 35th assy., ch. 70/pp. 132-134