Bermondsey Christ Church, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Surrey
Surrey Parishes
Bermondsey Christ Church


Guide to Bermondsey Christ Church, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bermondsey Christ Church, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Bermondsey
Registration District Bermondsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

Bermondsey Christ Church was originally created as one of several chapelries lying within the boundary of the ancient parish of St Mary Magdalen Bermondsey. It was constructed by the year 1845*.

The other chapels built prior to 1900 in the ancient parish and borough included:

  • Charterhouse Mission, Bermondsey -
  • Christ Church - 1845*
  • Clare College Mission, Bermondsey - 1886
  • Holy Trinity Rotherhithe St, Bermondsey - 1838
  • St Anne Thorburn Sq, Bermondsey - 1866
  • St Augustine, South Bermondsey - 1872
  • St Crispin, Southwark Park Rd - 1874 *St Hugh, Crosby Row - 1885
  • St James, Jamaica Rd, Bermondsey - 1830
  • St Luke, Grange Road - 1885 * St Mary Magdalen - 1548
  • St Paul, Kipling St - 1846
  • St Saviour, Southwark Park Rd - 1874
  • St Stephen‘s Mission Church, Tenda Rd - 1872

BERMONDSEY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish and union, in the borough of Southwark, E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of Surrey, 1½ mile(S. S. E.) from London. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bermondsey Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Surrey Parish Registers, 1536-1992 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Surrey Baptisms and Marriages (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = Surrey, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Surrey, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Bermondsey Christ Church Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1536-1992
1536-1992
1536-1992
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1918
1538-1841


ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1912
1754-1933
1813-1987
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1536-1865
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Surrey History Centre.

Census records


Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
 

Websites


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 214-223. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk