To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Benton County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Benton County, Oregon)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Benton County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Benton County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Benton County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 23, 1847
County Seat Corvallis
Courthouse
Or-benton-ch.jpg
Address Benton County Courthouse
180 NW 5th Street
Corvallis, OR 97330-4777
Phone: 541.757.6800
Benton County Website




County Information[edit | edit source]


Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Thomas Hart Benton, a U.S. Senator who advocated American control over the Oregon Country. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. [1]

Benton County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1907 1850 1907 1850 1850 1850 1845
Statewide registration for births and deaths in 1903. General compliance year unknown.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1907
marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1850
and military discharge records from 1919. [3]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Benton County, Oregon

Records held at County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

  • Record Loss:

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Oregon, Benton County Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Quick Facts[edit | edit source]

Benton-thomashart.jpg

Named after Thomas Hart Benton, U.S. Senator from Missouri, who advocated U.S. control over Oregon Country.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

23 December 1847: from Polk County. [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

20 February 1893: Lincoln County. 28 January 1851: Umpqua County.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

Post Offices

  • Alpine: The post office was established in 1912.
  • Alsea: The post office was not established until July 1871, with Thomas Russell postmaster.

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Lane | Lincoln | Linn | Polk

Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
ORGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
ORGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
ORInterment
ORGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

  • 1850
  • 1853 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1854 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

County Records[edit | edit source]

Court[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Polk CountyMarion CountyLinn CountyLincoln CountyLane CountyOR BENTON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military History and Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Birth Records[edit | edit source]

Delayed Birth Certificates


Birth Registers

Marriage Records[edit | edit source]

  1. Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
  2. Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection

Death Records[edit | edit source]

Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Benton County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1646
Philomath 97370

Benton County Historical Society
1101 Main Street
Philomath 97370
Telephone: 541-929-6230
Website

Benton County History Ctr
110 Nw 3rd St
Corvallis 97330-4701

Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Benton, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benton_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benton County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benton County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. WorldCat 50140092Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Benton County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benton_County,_Oregon, accessed 13 September 2018.

{{Oregon-stub))