Benton County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Benton County

Guide to Benton County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Benton County, Minnesota
Map of Minnesota highlighting Benton County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Founded October 27, 1849
County Seat Foley
Address Benton County Courthouse
531 Dewey Street
P.O. Box 129
Foley, MN 56329
Benton County Website

County Information

Benton County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1865 1850 1867 1850 1850 1852

County Courthouse

County Recorder has birth records from 1870,
marriage records from 1887, death records from 1871
and land records from 1850.
Court Administrator has divorce and court records
from 1900 and probate records from 1850. [2]


Parent County

  • 1849--Benton County was created 27 October 1849 from St. Croix County, Eliminated 27 Oct 1849. County seat: Foley [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places


Foley | Gilman | Rice | Ronneby | Royalton | Sartell | Sauk Rapids | St. Cloud


Alberta Township | Gilmanton Township | Glendorado Township | Graham Township | Granite Ledge Township | Langola Township | Mayhew Lake Township | Maywood Township | Minden Township | Sauk Rapids Township  St. George Township | Watab Township

 Unincorporated Communities

Brennyville | Bushville | Duelm | Fruitville | Glendorado | Granite Ledge | Jakeville | Mayhew | Minden | North Benton | Novak's Corner | Oak Park | Parent | Popple Creek | Rum River | Silver Corners | Watab


Neighboring Counties



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.


State Census


Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Emigration and Immigration


The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Benton County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.




Civil War

Civil War service men from Benton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Benton County.

- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Benton County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:



Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Records


Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Benton County Historical Society
218-1st Street North
Box 426
Sauk Rapids 56379
Telephone: 320 253-9614

Sartell Historical Society
PO Box 1907
Sartell, MN 56377

Central Minnesota Historical Center
Centennial Hall
Room 148
St. Cloud University
St. Cloud, MN 5630

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benton County, Minnesota page 362, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).