Benton County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Benton County
 

Guide to Benton County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Bentonville
Organized: September 30, 1836
Parent County(s): Washington[1]
Neighboring Counties
Adair (OK)  • Barry (MO)  • Carroll  • Delaware (OK)  • Madison  • McDonald (MO)  • Stone (MO)  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasBentonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-benton.png
Adoption
War Eagle Mill in Benton County, Arkansas

County Information

Description

Benton County, founded September 30, 1836, was formed from Washington County, and is located in the northwest corner of Arkansas on the Ozark plateau. It adjoins Oklahoma to the west and Missouri to the north. The county seat is Bentonville, named in honor of U.S Senator Thomas Hart Benton of Missouri, who was instrumental in helping the Arkansas Territory achieve statehood.

County Courthouse

Benton County Courthouse
215 E. Central, Suite 217
Bentonville, AR 72712-0699
Telephone: 479.238.0120
Benton County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1861 and probate records from 1859;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court, and land records.[2]

Benton County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1861 1914* 1837 1837 1866
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

  • 1865 - A courthouse fire destroyed many early records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1836--Benton County was created 30 September 1836 from Washington County.
  • County seat: Bentonville[4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Benton County, Arkansas:

  • Bella Vista
  • Bentonville
  • Centerton
  • Cherokee City
  • Cross Roads
  • Decatur
  • Garfield
  • Gentry
  • Gravette
  • Rogers
  • Siloam Springs
  • Sulphur Springs

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Benton County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • Late 1700's to early 1800's - The Osage Indians in Missouri made forays into the area for seasonal hunting.
  • 1808 - 1825 - The U.S. government obtained major land cessions from the Osage.
  • 1828 - The Arkansas Cherokee no longer occupied the area and opened it to settlement.
  • Late 1820's - Settlers increasingly moved into the area.
  • 1836 - September 30 - Benton County was formally established as a separate county.
  • Many early county settlers came from Tennessee and other states of the upper South.
  • During the Civil War, many Benton County residents were caught between strongly Confederate Arkansans to the south and Union-supporting Missourians to the north.
  • During the Civil War years, much of Benton County suffered destruction and severe food shortages.
  • 1870's - The county’s population grew, but the number of African American citizens decreased rapidly

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Benton, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1843-1915 Benton County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 : Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1858-1888; Chancery Court records 1843-1882; Dockets 1869-1897; Gurdian bonds 1858-1887; Minutes 1857-1874; Probate records 1884-1908.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Benton County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographies from the History of Benton County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website
  • History of Benton, Washington, Carroll, Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Sebastian Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Benton CountyCarroll CountyWashington CountyMadison CountyTaney CountyStone CountyBarry CountyMcDonald CountyNewton CountyOttawa CountyDelaware CountyAdair CountySequoyah CountyCherokee CountyChristian CountyDouglas CountyOzark CountyLawrence CountyMayes CountyCraig CountyHaskell CountyMuskogee CountyNewton CountyJohnson CountyFranklin CountyCrawford CountyARBenton2.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Benton County on page 191.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include"an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]

Civil War

Monument, built 1908, Bentonville, Benton, County, Arkansas

Regiments. Men in Benton County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company D
- 34th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F

Men from Benton County served in the 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)[6] and the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[7], Companies E and M

Online Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Benton County.

  • March 6-8, 1862 = Pea Ridge, also known as Elkhorn Tavern.[8]
  • Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Benton County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Allyn Lord, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=748&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed 2016 01 07), “Benton County.”
  6. Arkansas. Adjutant General's Office. Report of the Adjutant General of Arkansas, for the period of the late rebellion, and to November 1, 1866 (Bethesda, Maryland : University Publications of America, c1990).
  7. Allen, Desmond Walls. Third Arkansas Union Cavalry (Desmond Walls Allen, Conway, Arkansas) 1987, pp. 33-92.
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  9. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.