Benson, Oxfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Benson, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wallingford|
|Parish registers: 1565|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Dorchester; Court of the Peculiar of Banbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BENSINGTON, or Benson (St. Helen), a parish,in the parliamentary borough and the union of Wallingford, partly in the hundred of Dorchester, but chiefly in that of Ewelme, county of Oxford, 1½ mile(N. N. E.) from Wallingford; containing the hamlets of Fifield, Preston-Crowmarsh, and Roke.
Benson is an Ancient Parish in the county of Oxfordshire. This parish is also known as Bensington. Other places in the parish include: Crowmarsh Battle, Roke, and Preston Crowmarsh. Additional information is available from Genuki.org.uk.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Benson parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Benson Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Oxfordshire History Centre.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 207-210. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.