To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Belmont County, Ohio)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Belmont County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Belmont County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Belmont County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Belmont County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Belmont County Courthouse
101 Main St.
St. Clairsville, Ohio 43950
Belmont County Website
Phone: 740.699.2139



Belmont County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1803 1867 1820 1800 1804 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Jefferson and Washington counties 7 September 1801.[2]
  • County Seat: St. Clairsville

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for rom the French for "beautiful mountain" and refers to the scenery. It's county seat is St. Clairsville and was founded September 7, 1801. It is located in the Eastern Central area of the state.[3]

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Jefferson County  • Harrison County  • Guernsey County  • Noble County  • Monroe County  • Marshall County Ohio County

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1980 A courthouse fire may have damaged records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography[edit | edit source]

Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
181011,097
182020,32983.2%
183028,62740.8%
184030,9017.9%
185034,60012.0%
186036,3985.2%
187039,7149.1%
188049,63825.0%
189057,41315.7%
190060,8756.0%
191076,85626.3%
192093,19321.3%
193094,7191.6%
194095,6140.9%
195087,740−8.2%
196083,864−4.4%
197080,917−3.5%
198082,5692.0%
199071,074−13.9%
200070,226−1.2%
201070,4000.2%

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Belmont became part of the State of Ohio on 1 Mar 1803, having formerly been part of the Northwest Territory. It was served by the Ohio District Court from 1803 until 10 Feb 1855, when the court was divided into Northern and Southern districts. Belmont was part of the Southern District. On 3 Mar 1911, the court was further divided and was subsequently part of the Southern Eastern District. See Ohio District Court Jurisdictions for a chart of the Ohio counties and the district courts that served them. District and Circuit Courts had the same jurisdictions.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

  • McKelvey, A.T. Centennial history of Belmont County, Ohio and representative citizens (Chicago : Biographical Pub. Co. 1903) Digital version at Google Books; FamilySearch Books Online. Indexed in “Index to McKelvey’s centennial history of Belmont County, Ohio, 1801-1901” (St. Clairsville, Ohio : Cumberland Trail Genealogical Society, 2001) FHL book 977.193 H22i..
  • Poorman, Christian L., History of the Upper Ohio Valley: with family history and biographical sketches; a statement of its resources, industrial growth and commercial advantages, Vol. 2 (Madison, Wisconsin : Brant & Fuller, c1890) Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online; FHL book 973 H2hu v. 2.
  • Caldwell J. A., History of Belmont and Jefferson Counties, Ohio (Wheeling, West Virginia : Historical Pub. Co., 1880) Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online;FHL microfilm 896779, Item 1.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Harrison CountyJefferson CountyMonroe CountyNoble CountyGuernsey CountyMarshall CountyOhio CountyOH BELMONT.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Belmont County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Belmont County.

- 98th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies B and E
World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Finding More Ohio Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Belmont County Ohio newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

  • Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981).  Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981).FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Belmont County Courthouse
100 W Main Street
Saint Clairsville, OH 43950-1225
Phone: 740.699.2139 

Court Clerk has divorce and court records from 1820.
County Health Department has burial records.
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records.[2]

Family Search Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby FamilySearch Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

Belmont County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society
Barnesville Hutton Memorial Library
308 East Main Street
Barnesville OH 43713
P O Box 285, Barnesville, OH 43713-0285
Phone: 740-425-1651
Website

Ohio Genealogical Society
611 State Route 97 West
Bellville, OH 44813-8813
Phone: (419) 886-1903
Email: ogs@ogs.org
Website

Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court with divorce records located with the Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records



 Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Belmont County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Belmont County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Belmont County, Ohio. Page 540 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/belmont/ accessed 2/14/2017
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Belmont County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belmont_County,_Ohio, accessed 2 November 2018.