Beech Hill, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Beech Hill

Guide to Beech Hill, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beech Hill, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Reading
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Bradfield
Registration District Basingstoke
Records begin
Parish registers: 1868; For more records see Stratfield Saye (Hampshire)
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Basingstoke
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

Beech Hill is a chapelry of Stratfield Saye Ancient Parish (Hampshire; which also see) in Berkshire. It was erected by the year 1868.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Beech Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Beech Hill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1868-1917
1868-1930
1868-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FS Catalog PRs
1868-1978
1868-1978
1868-1978

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Chapelry ('parish') registers exist for this chapel at the Berkshire Record Office and through FamilySearch.org and its 4,600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide. These registers commence from 1868 to the 20th century.

Non-Conformist Churches

Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Beech Hill Chapelry in Stratfieldsaye in GENUKI


References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. (1870). Adapted. Accessed: 15 Apr 2013.