To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bedford St Peter, Bedfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bedford St Peter, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bedford St Peter, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bedford Borough
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Bedford
Registration District Bedford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bedford
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BEDFORD, is a borough which comprises the parishes of St. Cuthbert, St. John, St. Mary, St. Paul, and St. Peter De Marton. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Moravians; as well as the Primitive Episcopal or Reformed Church of England.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Bedford St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = England Births, Marriages, Deaths (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
GIBBS = StevenGibbs.me.uk - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Bedford St Peter Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


GIBBS 1837-1901
1837-1901
1837-1901
NBI



1575-1852
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1573-1812, 1813-1874, 1892-1897
1583-1837, 1837-1884


FS Catalog PRs
1572-1884,
1754-1965

1572-1884,
1754-1965

1572-1884,
1754-1965
FS Catalog BTs
1602-1898
1602-1898
1602-1898

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District[edit | edit source]
  • Bedford

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Bedford St Peter on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 188-194]. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk