Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bedford County, Virginia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Virginia
Bedford County

Guide to Bedford County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Bedford County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Bedford County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Bedford County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1752
County Seat Bedford
Courthouse
VirginiaBedfordCourthouse.jpg


County Information

Description

Bedford County is located in the West-Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named in honor of John Russell, The Fourth Duke of Bedford, who was then Secretary of State for Great Britain during the reign of King George II[1].

Bedford County Virginia Courthouse

Bedford County, Courthouse
129 East Main Street
Bedford, Virginia 24523
Phone: 540-586-7601

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1853-1897 and 1912-1918, death records 1953-1918, marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1754[2]

Beginning Dates for Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1755 1853 1810 1754 1754

Bedford County Virginia History

John Russell, 4th Duke of Bedford (1710-1771)

The county was named after the 4th Duke of Bedford, John Russell (1710-1771).

Parent County

1752--Bedford County was created 27 February 1752 from Albemarle and Lunenburg Counties.
County seat: Bedford

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Bedford Villages: Lost and Found. 1997. The Peaks of Otter Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution. Bedford, Virginia : The Chapter.

Bedford County Virginia Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Bedford County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 4, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1960):171-175. Online at: American Ancestors($).

African American

Bedford County had one of the largest slave populations in the state: 1860 - 10,176 slaves and 1870 - 10,770 one of the largest African American populations in Virginia.[3]

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Bedford County, Virginia Cemeteries.

  • Barton Cemetery
  • Bond Cemetery
  • Booth Cemetery
  • Callaway-Steptoe Cemetery
  • Calvert Cemetery
  • Coffee Cemetery
  • Foutz Cemetery
  • Giles Cemetery
  • Grange Cemetery
  • Gray Cemetery
  • Lawhorn Cemetery
  • Leftwich Cemetery
  • Martin Cemetery
  • McKee Cemetery
  • Minter Cemetery
  • Morgan Cemetery
  • Morgans Church Cemetery
  • New Hope Cemetery
  • Nichols Cemetery
  • Nichols Cemetery
  • North Cemetery
  • Norwood Cemetery
  • Old Ebenezer Cemetery
  • Rose Cemetery
  • Saint Clair Cemetery
  • Saint Thomas Cemetery
  • Scotts Cemetery
  • Sharon Cemetery
  • Simmons Cemetery
  • Staunton Cemetery
  • Stone Road Cemetery
  • Tate Cemetery
  • Thomas Chapel Cemetery
  • Turpin Cemetery
  • Virginia Memorial Park
  • Waldron Cemetery
  • West Cemetery
  • Wheeler Cemetery
  • Wheeler Cemetery

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 10,531
1800 14,125 34.1%
1810 16,148 14.3%
1820 19,305 19.6%
1830 20,246 4.9%
1840 20,203 −0.2%
1850 24,080 19.2%
1860 25,068 4.1%
1870 25,327 1.0%
1880 31,205 23.2%
1890 31,213 0.0%
1900 30,356 −2.7%
1910 29,549 −2.7%
1920 30,669 3.8%
1930 29,091 −5.1%
1940 29,687 2.0%
1950 29,627 −0.2%
1960 31,028 4.7%
1970 26,728 −13.9%
1980 34,927 30.7%
1990 45,656 30.7%
2000 60,371 32.2%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

For tips on accessing Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.


1790

Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1800

Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1850
  • 1850 Bedford County, VA Census. By Marvin Neighbors. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press.
1890 Union Veterans

Church Records

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Beaver Dam (1801).[4] Charter members (1804) have been published in Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 24, No. 4 (Fall 2000). FHL Book 975.5 D25v v. 24 (2000).
  2. Difficult Creek (1805).[4][5]
  3. Goose Creek (1771).[4] Also known as Turner's Meeting House, Bedford Baptist Church, and Morgan's Baptist Church. A detailed history was published in 1971.[6] 24 founding members, history, and pastors (1771-1969) appear in Green Stone (pages 163-165).[7] Edwards published a membership list dated 1771 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists...
  4. Little Otter, Bedford, Va. (1797).[4] Later known as Liberty Baptist Church and later as Bedford Baptist Church. A history was published in 1996: FHL Book 975.5676 K2g.[8]
  5. Mount Hermon [North Fork of Otter][4][9] (1804)
  6. Otter[4]
  7. Staunton River (by 1787).[4] Also known as Moody Meeting House. A brief history and list of pastors (1790-1958) was published in Green Stone (pages 240-242).[10]
  8. Suck Spring (1805)[4]
  9. Timber Ridge (1805)[4]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

Bedford County fell within the bounds of the Strawberry Association.

Church of England

go to See also Cumberland Parish
go to See also Russell Parish

Four religious petitions (1774, 1778, 1779, 1782) concerning Church of England issues from residents of Bedford County, Virginia are available online at: Library of Virginia Digital Collections.

  • Meade's 1861 History of Parishes in Bedford County. 1861. By Bishop Meade. Philadelphia, PA : J.B. Lippincott & Co. Online at: Internet Archive[11]
Presbyterian
  • Between Enthusiasm and Stoicism: David Rice and Moderate Revivalism in Virginia and Kentucky. 2008. By Andrew M. McGinnis. Register of the Kentucky Historical Society, Vol. 106, No. 2 (Spring 2008):165-190.
  • One religious petition (1774) from Presbyterian residents of Bedford County, Virginia is online at: Early Virginia Religious Petitions, courtesy: The Library of Congress: American Memory.
Quaker

Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

In the 1700s and 1800s, Friends from Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy also attended the Cedar Creek Meeting House in Hanover County, Virginia.[16]

  • Jane Douglas Summers Brown Quaker Records (1903-). By Jane Douglas Summers Brown and Jones Memorial Library. Lynchburg, Virginia. MS 1515. MSS. Available on 26 microfilms at FHL 26 Rolls. Includes records of Henrico County Quakers; Brown assisted "William Wade Hinshaw in the writing of the Virginia volume of the Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy." N.B. Not all individuals referenced in this research belonged to the Quaker faith.
Unidentified

Court

  • Bedford County, Virginia Chancery Records 1755-1912 are online at: The Library of Virginia Digital Collections. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[17]
  • Governor's Fees & Etc., Bedford County Fee Book. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 41, No. 3 (Aug. 2003):225-226. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vs.
  • Individuals Listed in the 1754-1761 Bedford County Fee Book. By Barbara Vines Little. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 47, No. 1 (Feb. 2009):74-84; Vol. 47, No. 2 (May 2009):102-106. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vs.

Genealogy 

More than 400 genealogies have been published about Bedford County families. To view a list, visit Bedford County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

  • A Genealogy of Corleys : Beginning with Caniel Corley of Bedford County, Virginia, Tracing All Lineal Descendants of His Son, Jonathan Cheathem Corley. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Joseph and Elizabeth Wright of Bedford County, Virginia, and Columbiana County, Ohio. 1974. By Jay B. Wright. n.p. : n.p. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Our Kin : The Genealogies of Some of the Early Families Who Made History in the Founding and Development of Bedford County, Virginia. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Sketch Book of Liberty, Virginia : Its People and Its Trade. 1887. By Edward Pollock. Portsmouth, VA : Library of Congress. Online at: Ancestry ($).

Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Brunswick County are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Bedford County.[18]

Land and Property

An early settlers map is available for Bedford County. Hildebrand plots the locations of pioneers from 1750-1865. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5675 E7h.

Deeds

  • Bedford County, Virginia; Deed Book A-1: 1754-1762. By Ann Chilton. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).
  • Bedford County, Virginia; Deed Book B-2: 1761-1766. By Ann Chilton. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).
  • Bedford County, Virginia; Deed Book C-3: 1766-1771. By Ann Chilton. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).

Grants and Patents Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories

  • A Description of the Peaks of Otter. By Henry Morgan. Lynchburg, VA : Virginian Job Office. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Bedford County Records. Genealogy: A Journal of American Ancestry - No. 134. January 1922. Pompton Lakes, New Jersey : The Biblio Company Publishers. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online. Bedford County Records found on page 55.
  • Bedford County, Virginia, 1840-1860: The History of an Upper Piedmont County in the Late Antebellum Era. c1985. By W. Harrison Daniel. Bedford, Virginia : W.H. Daniel. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Bedford Villages-- Lost and Found. 1997. By Daughters of the American Revolution, Peaks of Otter Chapter (Bedford, VA). Bedford, VA : The Chapter. 3 vols. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Early Virginia Wills. Genealogy: A Journal of American Ancestry - Vol. 4, No. 06. June 1914. New York City, NY : William M. Clemens, Publisher. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • Green Stone: A History of Southern Bedford County, Virginia. c1996. By Rachel Parsons Flynn Bishop. Moneta, Virginia : R.P.F. Bishop. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia, Illustrated - Special Virginia Edition. 1884. By R. A. Brock, Secretary of the Virginia Historical Society. New York, NY : H.H. Hardesty & Co., Publishers. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • Historical Sketch [of] Bedford County, Virginia : 1753-1907. 1907. Lynchburg, VA : J.P. Bell Co. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • The History of Bedford County, Virginia : The Colorful 200-year Record of One of Virginia's Oldest and Proudest Communities. c1954. By Jeter Parker Lula. Bedford, VA. : Bedford Democrat. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Maps

Lynchburg (Independent City)Amherst CountyCampbell CountyFranklin CountyRoanoke CountyBotetourt CountyBedford (Independent City)VA BEDFORD.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • Historical Map of Bedford County, Virginia, 1750-1865. 1973. Roanoke Historical Society. Map. Virginia : J.R. Hildebrand. Online at: Library of Virginia.

Migration

  • Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 1966. By Katherine B. Elliott. South Hill, Virginia : K.B. Elliott. 2 vols. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 W2e; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 W2e 1990-1992. Includes individuals who migrated out of Bedford County to other parts of the country.
  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist Vol. 21, No. 2. April - June.1977:113-118. CD available at: American Ancestors ($), FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg.

Military

French and Indian War
  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Bedford County, see pp. 58-67, 107.]
  • Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. By William Armstrong Crozier. 1954. Baltimore : Southern Book Co. Online at: Internet Archive, Hathitrust, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.
Dunmore's War
  • Augusta, Bedford, Botetourt, Culpeper and Fincastle Payrolls and Public Service Claims, 1775: Also Known as Dunmore's War: Enlarged and Photocopied. 2004. Fort Wayne, Indiana : Allen County Public Library. Online at: FamilySearch Online Books.
Revolutionary War

Regiments. Service men in Bedford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Bedford County supplied soldiers for the:

- 1st Virginia Regiment
- 5th Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment
- Bedford County Militia. The Bedford County Minute Men were commanded by Captain Moses Greer.[19]

Additional resources:

The 5th Virginia Regiment recruited soldiers from Bedford County, Virginia. A history and drawings of the uniforms this regiment would have used is available at Field Music of the American Revolution.

A militia list survives identifying folks from Bedford County who served:

Southern Campaign American Revolution Pension Statements

Additional resources include:

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). See Virginia, Eastern District, Bedford County on pages 128-129.
  • Bedford County Militia, 1758 (part 1). 1820. Transcribed from: William Waller Hening. Franklin Press, Richmond, Virginia. Online at: USGenWeb.
  • Bedford County Militia, 1758 (part 2). 1820. Transcribed from: William Waller Hening. Franklin Press, Richmond, Virginia. Online at: USGenWeb.
  • Bedford County, Virginia, 1774-1783: A Study of Participation in the War for Independence. 1977. By John Stephen Westerlund. Utah State University, Department of History and Geography.
  • Index to Revolutionary Pension and Bounty-Land Documents at the Library of Virginia. 2012. Compiled by C. Leon Harris. Online at: Library of Virginia.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. 1852. Washington, D.C. : Clearfield. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Collection with index and images at Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Revolutionary War Pensions of Bedford County, Virginia. 1988. By Ann Chilton. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. By J. T. McAllister. c1913. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
War of 1812

Bedford County men served in the 10th and 91st Regiments.[20]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Bedford County, p. 63-64.
  • Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. By James L. Douthat. 2007. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A (Clay Dragoons), Company F (Bedford Southside Dragoons), Company G (Radford Rangers)
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Bedford Rifle Grays).[21]
- 28th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Old Dominion Rifles), Comapny G (Bedford Grays), and Company H (Patty Layne Rifles).[22]
- 34th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Piedmont Battery B), Company G (Bedford Heavy Artillery), Company H (Powhatan Artillery), and Company I (Captain Sales Heavy Artillery).[23]
- 42nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Buford Grays).[24]
- 58th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A (Walker Guards), B (Stewartsville Tigers), C (Big Island Greys), I (Staunton Yeomanry), and K (Kasey's Greys).[25]

Records and histories are available, including:

Miscellaneous Records

Naturalization

Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

  • Marriages and Deaths Found in Early Bedford Newspapers (Bedford Democrat). By Carole Field Lacy. Bedford Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Feb. 2008):3; Vol. 22, No. 2 (May 2008):19; Vol. 23, No. 1 (Feb. 2009); Vol. 23, No. 2 (May 2009):19; Vol. 23, No. 3 (Aug. 2009):35; Vol. 23, No. 4 (Nov. 2009):51.

Occupations

  • The Mills of Bedford County. 2006. Bedford, Virginia : Bedford City/County Museum.
  • The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. 1952. By George Barton Cutten. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 U23c. Includes a section on Liberty (now Bedford) silversmiths and watchmakers.

Petitions

  • 1785 Petition for an Inspection Station for Tobacco Hemp & Flour at Lynches Ferry. Bedford Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Feb. 2008):10-11.
  • A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford (Virginia State Library). By H.J. Eckenrode. 1908. Richmond, Virginia : Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books. Bedford County petitions (1777-1858) are described on pp. 210-234.
  • Petitions of Residents of Bedford and Henry Counties, Virginia, in Favor of and Opposed to a New County (Franklin). By Dorothy C. Watts. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1980):83-89; Vol. 24, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1980):192-199. Available at: New American Ancestors ($).
  • Seven religious petitions (1774, 1774, 1778, 1779, 1779, 1782, 1785) from residents of Bedford County, Virginia are available online at: Early Virginia Religious Petitions, courtesy: The Library of Congress: American Memory.

Private Papers

Probate Records

  • Abstracts of Bedford County, Virginia, Wills, Inventories and Accounts, 1754-1787. By Joida Whitten. 1969. Dallas, Texas. Reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1970):36. Online at: American Ancestors ($). FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Bedford County, Virginia Index of Wills from 1754 to 1830. 1917. By D. Buford Rowland. New York, NY : William M. Clemens. Online at: Google Books.
  • Bedford County, Virginia Will Book 1 and 2. Will Book 1: 1759-1787 and Will Book 2: 1787-1803. By Ann Chilton. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).
  • Bedford County, Virginia Will Book 3: 1794 to 1810. By Ann Chilton. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).
  • Copies of Extant Wills from Counties Whose Records Have Been Destroyed: Will of Major John Dinwiddie of King George County, Virginia. By George Harrison Sanford King (and Dinwiddie Family Notes). The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1959):51-64. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Marriage Bonds of Bedford County, Virginia, 1755 - 1800, Bedford County, Virginia: Index of Wills, 1754 - 1830. 1989. By Earle S. Dennis and Jane E. Smith. Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Pub. Co. Reprinted with: Bedford County, Virginia: Index of Wills, from 1754 to 1830 - edited by Rowland D. Buford. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5675 V2d 1989;
  • Virginia Wills Before 1799: A Complete Abstract Register of All Names Mentioned in Over Six Hundred Recorded Wills, ... Copied from the Court House Records of Amherst, Bedford, Campbell, Loudoun, Prince William and Rockbridge Counties. 1924. By William M. Clemens. Pompton Lakes, NJ : Biblio Co. Online at: Access Genealogy, Ancestry ($), Heritage Quest Online ($). Free online surname index and 2004 reprint purchase details at Mountain Press ($).

A free index to Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1754-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.

Online Probate Records

  • 1639 – 1850 - Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850. Online at: Ancestry ($).

Taxation

Online Bedford County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Insolvents - - 1757 - - -
Insolvents - - 1762 - - -
Tithes - - 1763 - - -
Personal Property 1782 - - - 1782 1782
Personal Property 1783 - - - 1783 1783
Personal Property - - - - 1784 1784
Personal Property - - - - 1785 1785
Personal Property - - - - 1786 1786
Personal Property - - - - 1787 1787
Delinquents - - - - - 1787
Personal Property - - - - 1788 1788
Delinquents - - - - - 1788
Personal Property 1789 - - 1789 1789 1789
Delinquents - - - - - 1789
Personal Property - - 1790 1790
Delinquents - - - - - 1790
Personal Property - - - - 1791 1791
Personal Property - - - - 1792 1792
Personal Property - - - - 1793 1793
Personal Property - - - - 1794 1794
Personal Property - - - - 1795 1795
Personal Property - - - - 1796 1796
Personal Property - - - - 1797 1797
Insolvents 1797 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1798 1798
Insolvents 1798 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1799 1799
Personal Property 1800 - 1800 1|2|3 1800 1800 1800
Personal Property - - - - 1801 1801
Personal Property - - - - 1802 1802
Personal Property - - - - 1803 1803
Personal Property - - - - 1804 1804
Personal Property - - - - 1805 1805
Personal Property - - - - 1806-1875 -

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

Bibliography

  • 1757 - Insolvents, 1757. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 46, No. 4 (Oct. 2002), pp. 306-307. FHL 975.5 B2vg.
  • 1762 - Insolvents, 1762. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Aug. 1985), p. 72. Online at: Ancestry ($). FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1763 - Tithes, 1763. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Aug. 1985), p. 73. Online at: Ancestry ($). FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1764 - Bedford County Tithables, 1764. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 46, No. 2 (May 2008):89-90. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1782-1805 - Bedford County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1805. Online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 - Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, FHL 975.5 R4f 1978. 1782 personal property tax list of Bedford County.
  • 1782 - Tax List, 1782. Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Feb. 1981); Vol. 5, No. 2 (May 1981).
  • 1782-1816 -Bedford County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1805, 1806-1816. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans.
  • 1782; 1784; 1816 - Tax Digests. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($).
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1784-1820 - Land and Lots Returned as Delinquent, 1784-1820. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 44, No. 4 (Nov. 2006). FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1787 - The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Bedford County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1787-1790 - Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):114-115. Online at: FHL, American Ancestors ($). These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Bedford County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on pp. 114-115.
  • 1789, 1800 - Indexed images of the 1789 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Bedford County, Virginia - Binns Genealogy.
  • 1789 - Bedford County Personal Tax List Column Headings. Online at: - Binns Genealogy.
  • 1795 - Bedford County Insolvents, 1795. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 46, No. 3 (Aug. 2008):203-204. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1797-1798 - Insolvent Lists for 1797 and 1798. Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 10, No. 3 (Aug. 1986), pp. 43-44. Online at: Roanoke Public Library.
  • 1800 - Bedford County, Virginia 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1963):65-70; Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1963):118-124; Vol. 7, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1963):167-172. Online at: American Ancestors ($). FHL 975.5 B2vg.
  • 1800 - Tax List, 1800. Bedford Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 4, No. 4 (Nov. 1993); Vol. 5, No. 1 (Feb. 1994); Vol. 5, No. 2 (May 1994); Vol. 5, No. 3 (Aug. 1994); Vol. 5, No. 4 (Nov. 1994).
  • 1815 - 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 1997-2000. By Roger D. Ward. Athens, Georgia : Iberian Pub. Co. 6 vols. FHL 975 E4w v. 2. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Bedford County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1817-1819 - Insolvent Lists, 1817-19. Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 13, No. 2 (May 1989).
  • Pre-1820 - A List of Lands and Lots Returned as Delinquent in Bedford County. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 44, No. 4 (Nov. 2006):295-30. FHL 975.5 B2vs. Non-payment of taxes before 1820.[26]
  • 1864 - Tariff of Tolls to be Charged on Blue Ridge Turnpike and Ferry, 1864. Spring 2004 Museum News. Bedford, Virginia.
  • 1915 - Thomas Jefferson Tax List, Poplar Forest. 1915. Southsider. Vol. 12, No. 2. Charlotte Court House, Virginia. (1993).

Vital Records

Indexes to Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1853-1856 - Bedford County, Virginia Birth Records: 1853-1856. By Ann Chilton. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Vol. I. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).
  • 1853-1897 - Bedford County Birth Index 1853-1897. C868570.[27]
  • 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913.
  • Record of Births and Deaths Amongst Friends in Campbell and Bedford Counties, Taken from the Old Southriver Meeting Book. Online at: Genealogy Gophers.
  • Virginia, Birth Records, 1912-2014, Delayed Birth Records, 1854-1911. Online at: Ancestry ($).
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy deaths are online in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society.

  • 1853-1860, 1868-1880 - Bedford County, Virginia Death Records 1853-1860 and 1868-1880. By Marvin Neighbors. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).
  • 1853-1897 - Bedford County Death Index 1853-1897. B868571
  • 1912-1987 - Virginia, Death Certificates, 1912-1987
  • Record of Births and Deaths Amongst Friends in Campbell and Bedford Counties, Taken from the Old Southriver Meeting Book. Online at: Genealogy Gophers.
  • Virginia, Deaths and Burials Index, 1853-1917. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Virginia, Death Records, 1912-2014. Online at: Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.


Bedford County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Bedford County Virginia Genealogy Websites

Bedford County Virginia Genealogy References

  1. https://visitbedford.com/about-us/history/
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bedford County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 338-339. Digital version at Google Books.
  5. Rachel Parsons Flynn Bishop, Green Stone: A History of Southern Bedford County, Virginia (Moneta, Va.: R.P.B. Bishop, 1996), 16. FHL Book 975.5675 H2b.
  6. Harold B. Oyer, History Morgan's Baptist Church 1771-1971 (1971); see also "Nathaniel Shrewsbury: Bedford County Pastor," Bedford Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 23, No. 1 (Feb. 2009):12-13. Taken from Harold B. Oyer's History Morgans Baptist Church 1771-1971.
  7. Rachel Parsons Flynn Bishop, Green Stone: A History of Southern Bedford County, Virginia (Moneta, Va.: R.P.B. Bishop, 1996). FHL Book 975.5675 H2b.
  8. June Goode, Page Wilkerson, Pamela C. Turpin and Bedford Baptist Church, Bedford Baptist Church, 1797-1997: Two Hundred Years of Serving God and Man: Bedford, Virginia (Bedford, Va.: B and B Printing, 1996). FHL Book 975.5676 K2g.
  9. Monica Najar, Evangelizing the South: A Social History of Church and State in Early America (New York: Oxford University Press, 2008), 228.
  10. Rachel Parsons Flynn Bishop, Green Stone: A History of Southern Bedford County, Virginia (Moneta, Va.: R.P.B. Bishop, 1996). FHL Book 975.5675 H2b.
  11. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. Online at: Vol. I Internet Archive, Vol. II Internet Archive.
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  13. James Pinkney Pleasant Bell, Our Quaker Friends of Ye Olden Time: Being in Part a Transcript of the Minute Books of Cedar Creek Meeting, Hanover County, and the South River Meeting, Campbell County, Va (Lynchburg, Va.: J.P. Bell Company, 1905). FHL Book 975.5 K2bj; digital version at Google Books - free.
  14. F. Edward Wright, Quaker Records of South River Monthly Meeting, 1756-1800 (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1993). FHL Book 975.567 K2w.
  15. William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
  16. Mary Marshall Brewer, Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 (Lewes, De.: Colonial Roots, 2002), Introduction. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b.
  17. "CHANCERY RECORDS INDEX AVAILABILITY" Library of Virginia (accessed 28 Nov 2017).
  18. Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 320-333. FHL Collection 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  19. Revolutionary War Pension of John Wright, 1832, Pension S6449. Abstract at Southern Campaign in the Revolutionary War.
  20. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 51. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  21. Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
  22. Frank E. Fields, 28th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 15.
  23. Johnny L. Scott, 34th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 135.
  24. John Chapla, 42nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 5.
  25. Robert J. Driver, Jr. 58th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 68.
  26. Online Catalogue, Virginia Historical Society, http://vhs3.vahistorical.org/star/x.starmarc.html.
  27. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Online at: https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.