Bedford County, Tennessee Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bedford County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Shelbyville
Organized: December 3, 1807
Parent County(s): Rutherford[1]
Neighboring Counties
Coffee  • Lincoln  • Marshall  • Moore  • Rutherford
See County Maps
Courthouse
Bedford County, Tennessee Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Location of Bedford County Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county is named after "Revolutionary War officer Thomas Bedford, who was a large landowner in the area."[2]The County is located in the centre area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bedford County Courthouse
1 Public Sq Ste 101
Shelbyville, TN 37160
Phone: 931-684-7944
Circuit Court Clerk Phone: 931-684-3223
Bedford County Website

County Clerk
100 West Side Square, Suite 102
Shelbyville, TN 37160
Phone: 931-684-1921
County Clerk

County Clerk has marriage records from 1863, Probate records, and (as of 1985) original Minutes of the Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions, 1848-1860.[4].
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.[5]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[6] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[7] (male)

Bedford County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[8]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1863 1908 1830 1808 1861 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1830 Courthouse was seriously damaged by tornado with much record loss.[9]
  • 1863 and 1934 Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
  • Lost censuses: 1810
  • Lost deed book: 1852-1861, but a reconstructed index survives
  • All records before 1837, except deeds.[10]
  • Some record loss between 1837 and 1865 due to fire.[11]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[13]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Poplin's Crossroads
  • Raus
  • Richmond
  • Roseville
  • Rover
  • Wheel
Census-designated places

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Bedford County.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bedford County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

  • Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 8,242
1820 16,012 94.3%
1830 30,396 89.8%
1840 20,546 −32.4%
1850 21,511 4.7%
1860 21,584 0.3%
1870 24,333 12.7%
1880 26,025 7.0%
1890 24,739 −4.9%
1900 23,845 −3.6%
1910 22,667 −4.9%
1920 21,737 −4.1%
1930 21,077 −3.0%
1940 23,151 9.8%
1950 23,627 2.1%
1960 23,150 −2.0%
1970 25,039 8.2%
1980 27,916 11.5%
1990 30,411 8.9%
2000 37,586 23.6%
2010 45,058 19.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Bedford County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Bedford County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files The USGenWeb Census Project®

Tennessee, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1810-1891 - Ancestry ($)

1810 Lost

  • Lost, but a substitute is available:

1810

  • Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL 976.8 X2s 1810.
  • 1812 tax list, arranged by militia districts.

1810-1891

1891 Voters

1820

1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.

The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. A online index, provided by Lineages, will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance:

1830

  • Sistler, Byron. 1830 Census-Middle Tennessee. Evanston, Illinois: Byron Sistler & Assoc., 1971.

1840

1850

  • Bell, Annie W. B. Family Records of Bedford County, Tennessee as Given the United States Census Taker in 1850.s.p., 19--?. FHL 976.858 X2pb 1850
  • Porch, Deane. 1850 Census of Bedford County, Tennessee.s.p., 1968. FHL 976.858 X2p 1850

1860

1880

  • Sistler, Byronet al. 1880 Census-Tennessee: Transcription for Bedford County. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press: 198--?FHL 976.8583 X2s 1880

1890 Voters

1890-Lost but a substitute is available

  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL 976.8 X2s 1890.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration.For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.

  • Bedford County Church Records
- FamilySearch Catalog - Bedford County Church Records
  • Church histories tell when a church started in the area, who the early members were, give data about church leaders, etc.
- FamilySearch Catalog - Bedford County Church History
  • If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived.Two sites that give information about churches in Bedford County are:
- List of Bedford County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- List of Bedford County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)
  • In 1936, a helpful guide to early Bedford County church records was published by the Works Project Administration. [14]Use this guide to locate which church records exist and where they were housed in 1936. The Tennessee State Library and Archives has filmed some of these records. To locate which records are available at the TSLA, go to the appropriate "county fact sheet" on the TSLA Web site and scroll down to "selected manuscript material". All filmed church records at the TSLA for Bedford county are listed.

Baptist Missionary

  • 1901-1939 - First Church, Shelbyville. [15]
  • 1900 - - Mount Zion Church, Shelbyville.[16]

Church of God

  • 1933 - Church of God. [17]

Lutheran

  • W.P.A. New Hope Lutheran Church Records, 1805-1836, Bedford County, Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed in 1939. FHL US/CAN Film 24589 Item 6. Free index, available online, thanks to Steve Carson through GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a reasonable fee, the company sells Bedford County CDs, one of which includes a digitized version of this book.

Methodist Episcopal

  • Mathews, Reverend John D.D. Peeps into Life Autobiography. Methodist Episcopal Church Tennessee Conference, 1904. Free digital copy.
  • 1820 - - Methodist Church, Public Square, Shelbyville. [18]
  • 1876 - - Methodist Church, Wartrace. [19]

Presbyterian

  • 1827-1956 - First Presbyterian Church Records. Shelbyville, 1827-1956.TSLA Reel #478
  • 1827-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.1 Index to original records First Presbyterian Church Records.
  • 1870-1956 - Normandy Presbyterian Church Records. Normandy, 1870-1956. TSLA Reel #492
  • 1870-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records.Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979.FHL 976.8 K29s vol.1 'Index to original records Normandy Presbyterian Church.
  • 1877 Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Normandy, Baptism Index 1877. Batch C530321 at FamilySearch[20]
  • Cogswell, Robert E. The History of the First Presbyterian Church Shelbyville, Tennessee, 1815-1965. Free Lookups Available!

Protestant Episcopal

  • 1867-1969 - Church of the Redeemer Records. Shelbyville, 1867-1969.TSLA Reel #480
  • 1867-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.1 Index to original Church of the Redeemer Records.

Church of the Redeemer, Shelbyville

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Chancery Court

GSC Associates Historical Records Products has digitized and indexed Bedford County Chancery Court records, using TSLA microfilms and paper copies at the Bedford County Archives as their sources, for the years 1830 through 1859. Images of the records (as they appear on microfilm) are available for purchase for reasonable fees on CD. The following indexes, thanks to Brenda Carson, Steve Carson, Martha Mendez, and Allison Saxman are available to view on their website:

Book Abstracts and Indexes:

Circuit Court

GSC Associates Historical Records Products has digitized and indexed Bedford County Circuit Court records, using TSLA microfilms as their source, for the years 1840 through 1871. Images of the records (as they appear on microfilm), are available for purchase for reasonable fees on CD. The following indexes, thanks to Brenda Carson and Steve Carson, are available to view on their website:

County Court

GSC Associates Historical Records Products has digitized and indexed Bedford County County Court records, using TSLA microfilms as their source, for the years 1848 through 1874. Images of the records (as they appear on microfilm), are available for purchase for reasonable fees on CD. The following indexes, thanks to Brenda Carson, Steve Carson, Loretta Kelldorf, Bobby McFarlin, Patti McFarlin, and Lucy D. Zeier, are available to view on their website:

The following Bedford County County Court records have also been abstracted:

  • Marsh, Helen C. and Timothy R. Marsh. Earliest County Court Records of Bedford County, Tennessee. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8583 P2m.

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

  • Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online through Free African Americans website. [Includes African Americans in this county.]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

More than 65 genealogies have been published about Bedford County, Tennessee families. For more information visit Bedford County, Tennessee Compiled Genealogies.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The southern boundary line of Military Reservation set aside for North Carolina military grants lay several miles to the north of Bedford County. However "vast areas of land lying within the present boundaries of Bedford County" were granted to land speculators residing "east of the Allegheny Mountains at the close of the Revolution. Those presenting warrants were allowed to enter, locate, survey and file for grants to be issued out of John Armstrong’s Land Office at Hillsbourgh, North Carolina, for ten pounds per hundred acres."[23]

Land Grants

Land grant book 1808-1809; and Land book 1824-1925 are available at FHL.

Deeds

Bedford County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1808 and is located at the Bedford. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries. In 1965, the Tennessee Department of Education microfilmed Bedford County's Deed Books, Trust Deed Books, and Indexes covering the years 1808 to 1966. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 476342 ff. (Includes typed indexes to the burned volumes made from the register's notebook, ca. 1852-1861).

The organization Strictly By Name provides online indexes to early Bedford County land records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Land Records Vol. A: 1808-1809
  2. Land Records Vol. B: 1809-1

Book Abstracts and Indexes:

  • W.P.A. General Index to Deeds, 1808-1840, Bedford County, Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed in 1941. Free direct (grantor) and reverse (grantee) indexes are available online, thanks to Steve Carson through GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a reasonable fee, the company sells several Bedford County CDs, one of which includes a digitized version of this book.
  • GSC Associates Historical Records Products. Bedford County, Tennessee Deed Index, Volume 2, 1840-1875. CD. Purchase at website.
  • Selected Deeds from "Tennessee Trails" through Bedford County has abstracts of selected deeds of Bedford county. They are from an unidentified book in the Shelbyville Library

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Coffee CountyMoore CountyLincoln CountyMarshall CountyRutherford CountyTN BEDFORD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • 1777-1985 - Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
  • 1835 Map of Bedford County, TN. Originally published 1835. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
  • 1800s - Map of Bedford County, TN. Provenance unknown, includes civil districts, cities, towns, etc. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
  • 1878 Map of Bedford County, TN. Originally published 1878. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The following Bedford County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Bedford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bedford County:

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Bedford County:

Civil War Battles
The following battles took place in Bedford County:

Map showing Civil War battles in Tennessee

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Bedford County click on the following city:

Many early Bedford County marriage records are lost. The following publication, based on early newspapers that survived courthouse fires, may serve as a substitute:

  • 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL Book 976.8 V2L.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The County Court Clerk has responsibility for Bedford County probate records.

Online Records

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1847-1982 - Marsh, Helen C. Index, Bedford County Wills, 1847-1982: Loose Papers, Drawer or Box 1-18. [N.p.]: H.C. Marsh, 2006. (FHL Film 1572800 Item 5.)
  • 1830-1910 - Marsh, Helen C. and Timothy R. Marsh. Bedford County, Tennessee Wills. Shelbyville, Tennessee: Marsh Historical Publications, 1984. Indexes and abstracts of wills from both the Chancery Court and the County Court. Includes extant and reconstructed records from before the 1863 courthouse fire. (FHL book 976.8583 P28b.)
  • 1848-1860 - Marsh, Helen C. and Timothy R. Marsh; Timothy J. Edwards, indexer. Bedford County, Tennessee, Wills & Vital Records from Newspapers, 1848-1860. (FHL book 976.8583 V28ma.)
  • 1871-1967 - Marsh, Helen C.; Winston Roberts, indexer Drawers 71-72. Miscellaneous Settlement Indexes (Bedford County, Tennessee), 1871-1967. [N.p.]: H.C. Marsh, 2006. Includes conservator, executor's, and administrator's settlements. (FHL Film 1572800 Items 8-9.)
  • 1847-1881 - W.P.A. Will Books, 1847-1881, Bedford County, Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed in 1941. FHL US/CAN ;Film 24588 Item 1. Free index, available online, thanks to Steve Carson through GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a reasonable fee, the company sells Bedford County CDs, one of which includes a digitized version of this book.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

GSC Associates Historical Records Products has written a very helpful guide, which is available on their website:

They have also published images of the 1812, 1814, 1836, 1837, 1838, and 1839 tax lists (as taken from TSLA microfilms) on CD. Purchase the CD at their website.

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1809 "Sheriff Announces Unpaid 1809 Taxes in Bedford County," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 48, No. 3 (Fall 2001):58. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Bedford.
  • 1812 - Duncan, Ruth Henley G. "Bedford County, Tennessee Tax List-1812," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan. 1960):17-22; Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1960):46-49; Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul. 1960):69-72; Vol. 7, No. 4 (Oct. 1960):94-97; Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. 1961):24-27; Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1961):53-56; Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):99-102; Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct. 1961):126-128. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Bedford.
  • 1812 Tax List, 1812, Bedford County Historical Quarterly. Shelbyville TN: Spring 1975. Vol. 1 Iss. 1; Summer 1975. Vol. 1 Iss. 2; Fall 1975. Vol. 1 Iss. 3; Winter 1975. Vol. 1 Iss. 4; Spring 1976. Vol. 2 Iss. 1; Summer 1976. Vol. 2 Iss. 2; Fall 1976. Vol. 2 Iss. 3.
  • 1812 Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. Includes 1812 tax list. Free Lookups Available!
  • 1814 - "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3(Fall 1996):115-120. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Bedford. Includes Bedford County.
  • 1816 "Bedford County Lands Auctioned Off for Unpaid 1816 Taxes," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 4(Winter 1996):180. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Bedford.
  • 1817 "U.S. Holds 1817 Public Sale of Federal Tax-Delinquent Properties in Tennessee," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 2 (Summer 1996):63-68. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Bedford. Includes Bedford County.
  • 1836 Tax List, 1836, Bedford County Historical Quarterly. Shelbyville TN: Winter 1977. Vol. 3 Iss. 4; Spring 1978. Vol. 4 Iss. 1; Summer 1978. Vol. 4 Iss. 2; Fall 1978. Vol. 4 Iss. 3; Winter 1978. Vol. 4 Iss. 4; Spring 1979. Vol. 5 Iss. 1; Summer 1979. Vol. 5 Iss. 2; Fall 1979. Vol. 5 Iss. 3; Winter 1979. Vol. 5 Iss. 4; Spring 1980. Vol. 6 Iss. 1; Summer 1980. Vol. 6 Iss. 2; Fall 1980. Vol. 6 Iss. 3.
  • 1836 Tax List, 1836, Bedford County Historical Quarterly. Shelbyville TN: Winter 2004. Vol. 30 Iss. 4.
  • 1878 Tax List of Corporation of Shelbyville, 1878, Bedford County Historical Quarterly. Shelbyville TN: Winter 1980. Vol. 6 Iss. 4.
  • 1890 Tax Record, 1890, Bedford County Historical Quarterly. Shelbyville TN: Summer 1984. Vol. 10 Iss. 2; Fall 1984. Vol. 10 Iss. 3; Winter 1984. Vol. 10 Iss. 4; Spring 1985. Vol. 11 Iss. 1; Summer 1985. Vol. 11 Iss. 2; Fall 1985. Vol. 11 Iss. 3; Winter 1985. Vol. 11 Iss. 4.
  • 1891-1893 - Tax Releases, 1891-93, Bedford County Historical Quarterly. Shelbyville TN: Summer 1988. Vol. 14 Iss. 2.

For missing years, alternative resource to consider is "Tennessee Legislative Petitions".

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records


Book Abstracts and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

East Tennessee Historical Center
601 South Gay St.
Knoxville, Tennessee 37901-1629
Phone: 865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
Mailing Address: PO Box 1629, Knoxville, TN 37901-1629
Website

The East Tennessee Historical Center is the home of the East Tennessee Historical Society. The center has a museum, exhibits and programs regarding the East Tennessee History. The associated Calvin M. McClung Historical Collection ranks among the top research and genealogical libraries in the Southeast because of the rare manuscript collections, an extensive photograph collection, maps, and books. The McClung Collection is your gateway to exploring the family and history of the East Tennessee region.

Rutherford County Public Library
105 West Vine St.
Murfreesboro, TN 37130-3673
Phone: 615-893-4131
Website

Though it does not appear to draw attention to its genealogy collection, a search of the online catalog for the word genealogy brings up nearly 4,000 titles.

Shelbyville - Bedford County Public Library
220 South Jefferson Street
Shelbyville, TN 37160
Phone: 931-684-7323
website

NOTE:Argie Cooper Public Library became Shelbyville - Bedford County Public Library in 2014. The Library has books related to genealogy and local area history as well as books from other regions of the States. It also hosts microfilms of census and county newspapers, family name file clippings, obituaries and associated clippings from old newspapers.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Bedford County Historical Society
P. O. Box 141
Shelbyville, Tennessee 37162
website

East Tennessee Historical Center
601 South Gay Street
PO Box 1629
Knoxville, Tennessee 37901-1629
Phone: 865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
website

The East Tennessee Historical Center is the home of the East Tennessee Historical Society. The center has a museum, exhibits and programs regarding the East Tennessee History. The associated Calvin M. McClung Historical Collection ranks among the top research and genealogical libraries in the Southeast because of the rare manuscript collections, an extensive photograph collection, maps, and books.  The McClung Collection is your gateway to exploring the family and history of the East Tennessee region.

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, 37203-7507
website

The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Bedford County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy & History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Research Guides

  • Byron and Samuel Sistler's Every Name Index to 18 Middle Tennessee County Record Books (Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1992) FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22sb. The Sistlers created a comprehensive index to nine publications about this county's records. It also reaches to nearby Giles and Lincoln counties.
  • GSC Associates Historical Record Products has published 30 CDs with images or abstracts of Bedford County genealogical sources (including Bible, cemetery, church, court, marriage, probate, and tax records). They have many indexes on their website. The CDs are for sale individually for reasonable fees, or, if you are doing in depth research, you might want to consider purchasing one comprehensive CD that includes all 30 of their previous publications. Website.
  • "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Bedford County at TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
  • "Bedford County Genealogical Records Survey," The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 2, No. 4 (Spring 1989). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Bedford.
  • "Checklist for Searching Middle Tennessee before 1820," The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Summer 1998). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Bedford.
  • W.P.A. Inventory of the County Archives of Tennessee No. 2, Bedford County (Shelbyville). Nashville, Tenn.: Tennessee Historical Records Survey Project, 1940. FHL US/CAN Book 976.858 A3. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Bedford, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bedford_County,_Tennessee accessed 6 Dec 2018
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bedford County, Tennessee page 638, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  7. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State.
  10. Robert M. McBride, Tennessee County Data (Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee States Library and Archives, 1966), 13.
  11. McBride.
  12. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  13. Wikipedia contributors, "Bedford County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bedford_County%2C_Tennessee, accessed 6 November 2019.
  14. WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942. FHL 976.8 K23w
  15. WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942.
  16. WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942.
  17. WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942.
  18. WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942.
  19. WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942.
  20. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
  21. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
  22. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
  23. Helen C Timothy R Marsh, Land Deed Genealogy of Bedford County, Tennessee 1807-1852. (Easley, South Carolina : Southern Historical Press, Inc., 1988) Page iv. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8583 R2m v. 1.
  24. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
  25. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/a/a8/Igitennesseedeath.pdf.