Bedford (Independent City), Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bath County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

Bedford, Virginia
—  Independent City  —
Location in Virginia
Founded 1890
Website http://www.bedfordva.gov/

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The City of Bedford is located in the West-Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for John Russell, The Fourth Duke of Bedford, who was then Secretary of State for Great Britain during the reign of King George II[1].

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Virginia, Independent Bedford City Courthouse.png

For additional records, see Bedford County.

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1890--Bedford was created 1890 from Bedford County. [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bedford (Independent City), Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the City
  • FindAGrave Clicking on Place Name (without the word "cemetery") may list more
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.
  • List of Cemeteries for Bedford City are: Fairmount Cemetery; Longwood Cemetery; Oakwood Cemetery; Greenwood Cemetery;[3]
  • List of Historical City Cemetery Locations: Fuqua Cemetery; Jackson Street Cemetery; Mountain Cemetery; Otey Street Cemetery [4]


For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Bedford, Virginia Cemeteries.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Lynchburg (Independent City)Amherst CountyBotetourt CountyFranklin CountyPittsylvania CountyCampbell CountyVA BEDFORD IND CITY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Liberty (now Bedford) silversmiths and watchmakers.]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://visitbedford.com/about-us/history/
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Bedford Gov. accessed 3 Mar 2020
  4. Bedford Gov. accessed 3 Mar 2020