Beaufort County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Beaufort County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
- From 1800 to 1868 this Beaufort County was also known by the alias of Beaufort District.
- Not to be confused with the overarching Beaufort District 1768-1800.
County in South Carolina Lowcountry.
|Beaufort County, South Carolina|
Location in the state of South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church Records
- 5.6 Court
- 5.7 DNA
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Historic Residences
- 5.10 Land
- 5.11 Local Histories
- 5.12 Maps
- 5.13 Migration
- 5.14 Military
- 5.15 Newspapers
- 5.16 Periodicals
- 5.17 Probate
- 5.18 Taxation
- 5.19 Vital Records
- 6 Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- 7 Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
Beaufort County, South Carolina Record Dates
Beaufort County's civil records start the following years:
Beaufort County Courthouse
1501 Bay Street
Beaufort, SC 29902
Beaufort County Probate Judge
P.O. Box 1083
Beaufort, SC 29901-1083
Hours: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Marriage and Probate records.
Register of Deeds
100 Ribaut Rd. Rm. 205
Beaufort, SC 29901
Hours: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Clerk of Court
102 Ribaut Rd. Rm. 208
Beaufort, SC 29902-4453
The county was named for Henry Somerset, second Duke of Beaufort (1684-1714), one of the Lord Proprietors of South Carolina. Beaufort was once home to a both a French Fort (built 1562) and a Spanish fort (built 1566), neither of which survived. Learn more about the history of Beaufort County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.
Parent County/Boundary Changes
- 1768 - Beaufort District was established from Prince William, St. Lukes, St. Helenas, and St. Peters Parishes.
- 1785 - Beaufort divided into Granville, Hilton, Lincoln, and Shrewsbury Counties, which never became functional.
- 1800 - Non-functional counties of Granville, Hilton, Lincoln, and Shrewsbury were abolished. Beaufort District re-established.
- 1868 - Beaufort and all other districts became counties.
- 1878 - Hampton created from Beaufort County.
- 1912 - Jasper created from Hampton and Beaufort counties.
For more information as well as maps of Beaufort County through time, see the South Carolina State Archives or For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Beaufort suffered a major loss in February 1865 after records had been removed to Columbia for safety and subsequent losses during Reconstruction. Deed books in particular have suffered heavy losses.
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Beaufort County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
- Alexandria - Yemassee
- Altamaha - Okatie - also called Oldfield, Wigg's Bluff, Indigo, Pierpont, Pearpoint
- Ann Fripp
- Ann Perryclear
- Ashdale - Lady's Island
- Auldbrass - Yemassee
- Baker Cherry Hill - Port Royal
- Baker Place
- Barnwell - also called Belfair
- Barnwell Island
- Battery Creek
- Battery - Port Royal
- Beech Hill
- Belfair - also called Barnwell
- Bell Place - Port Royal
- Ben Chaplin Place
- Benjie's Point
- Bermuda - St Helena Island
- Bethel Retreat
- Big Island - Lady's Island
- Bindon - Yemassee
- Bloody Point - Daufuskie Island
- Blue House
- Blue Mud
- Bluff Farm
- Boggy Gut
- Bolus Point
- Bonny Hall - Yemassee
- Braddock's Point - Hilton Head Island
- Brays Island - Brays Island
- Brewton - Yemassee
- Brewton Hall
- Brickyard - Beaufort
- Brickyard Point - Beaufort
- Broad Creek
- Buckfield - Yemassee
- Button Hill - Port Royal
- Calibogia - Hilton Head Island
- Campbell Pino Land
- Campbell's Place
- Caper's Island
- Capers Place - Lady's Island
- Castle Hill
- Cedar Grove - Pocotaligo River
- Cedar Point - also called Sarah Ellis Place
- Chaplin - Hilton Head Island
- T.B. Chaplin Place - St Helena Island - also called Palmetto Point, Tom Chaplin Place, Tombee
- Cherry Hill - St Helena Island
- Chisolm - Wiggins
- Clarendon - Grays Hill
- Clay Hall
- Club House - Port Royal
- Cochran's Island - Spring Island - also called Spring Island
- Coffin Point - St Helena Island
- Coggins Point - Hilton Head Island
- Colleton Neck Barony - Bluffton - also called Devil's Elbow Barony, Oketee Barony
- Conyers - Hilton Head Island
- Cooper River
- Coosaw - Chisolm Island
- Coosaw Island
- Corn Island - St Helena Island
- Corner Farm
- Cotton Grove
- Cotton Hall - Yemassee
- Cotton Hope - Hilton Head
- Cotton River
- Croft Place
- Cypress Vale
- Daniel Pope Place
- Dataw - Dataw Island
- Devil's Elbow Barony - Bluffton - also called Colleton Neck Barony, Oketee Barony
- Distant Island
- Dr. Jenkins Place - St Helena Island
- Eddings Point
- Edgar Fripp - St Helena Island - also called Seaside, Palmetto Hills
- Edward Capers Place
- Edward Cuthbert Place
- Elliott Place No
- Ellis Cherry Hill - Burton
- Ellis Place
- Eustis - Lady's Island
- Fairfield - Gardens Corner
- Fairfield - Hilton Head Island
- Feliciana - St Helena Island
- Fendon Place
- Fish Haul - Hilton Head Island
- Foot Point - Spring Island
- Frank Pritchard Place
- Freeport - Daufuskie Island - also called Haig Point, Haigs Point, Hague's Point
- Fripp - St Helena Island
- Fripp Island - St Helena Island
- Fripp's Point Place
- Frogmore - St Helena Island
- Fuller Hermitage
- Fuller Place
- Gabriel Capers Place
- Good Hope
- Grasslawn - Hilton Head Island
- Gray Hill
- Green Point
- Grove Hall
- Habersham Place
- Haig Point - Daufuskie Island - also called Freeport, Haigs Point, Hague's Point
- Halfway House
- Hamilton Fripp
- Hampden Hall
- Hap Hazzard
- Harbor Island
- Hazell Farm
- Henry Fuller
- Henry McTurens Place - St Helena Island
- Henry Stuart Place - St Helena Island
- Hermitage - St Helena Island
- Heyward Hall
- Hobonny - Yemassee
- Hog Bluff - Spring Island
- Home Place - Hilton Head Island
- Honey Horn - Hilton Head Island
- Hope Place
- Hunting Island
- Huspah - Sheldon
- Indian Hill
- Indigo - Okatie - also called Oldfield, Wigg's Bluff, Altamaha, Pierpont, Pearpoint
- Isaac Fripp
- James Chaplin Place
- James Fripp Place
- Jenkins Island - Hilton Head Island
- Jenkins Pine Land
- Joe Johnson Place
- John F. Chaplin Place
- John Fripp Big House
- John Johnson Place
- Lands End - St Helena Island
- Laurel Bay - Port Royal
- Laurel Hill - St Helena Island
- Lawrence Fripp
- Leamington - Hilton Head Island
- Little Baynard
- Littlewood Point
- Lloyd Field
- Lonesome Hill
- Longwood Place
- Lucy Point
- Marabuoy - Hilton Head Island
- Marion Chaplin Place
- Marshlands - Hilton Head Island
- Mary Field - Daufuskie Island
- Mary Jenkins - St Helena Island
- Melrose - Daufuskie Island
- Middleton Stuart Place
- Mistle Grove
- Morgan Island
- Moss Creek
- Mount Alexander - Yemassee
- Mount Pleasant - Yemassee - also called Old Brass, Pleasant Hill
- Muddy Creek - Hilton Head Island
- Mulberry Grove
- Mulberry Hill
- Murkle Bush
- Myrtle Bank - Hilton Head Island
- Myrtle Bush - Port Royal
- Myrtle Grove - Sheldon
- New Point - White Hall
- New Port - also called Newport, Nieuport
- New River Rice
- Newburg - Daufuskie Island
- Newport - also called New Port, Nieuport
- Nieuport - also called New Port, Newport
- Oak Forrest - Pocotaligo River
- Oak Mulligan
- Oak Point
- Oakridge and Ackleburger
- Oaks - Frogmore
- Ocean Landing
- Oketee Barony - Bluffton - also called Devil's Elbow Barony, Colleton Neck Barony
- Old Brass - Yemassee - also called Mount Pleasant, Pleasant Hill
- Old Combahee - Yemassee
- Oldfield - Okatie - also called Indigo, Wigg's Bluff, Altamaha, Pierpont, Pearpoint
- Old Fort - Beaufort
- Oliver Fripp Place
- Orange Grove - St Helena Island
- Osward Place
- Palmetto Hill
- Palmetto Hills - St Helena Island - also called Seaside, Edgar Fripp
- Palmetto Island
- Palmetto Point - St Helena Island - also called T.B. Chaplin Place, Tom Chaplin Place, Tombee
- Paul Chaplin Place
- Perryclear Point - Port Royal
- Perry Place
- Phillip's Island
- Pick Pocket - Burton - also called Pickpocket Tract
- Pickpocket Tract - Burton - also called Pick Pocket
- Pigeon Point
- Pinckney Retreat - Beaufort - also called Retreat
- Pinckney's Island
- Pine Barren
- Pine Island - Frogmore
- Pineland Place
- Pineland Tract
- Pleasant Hill - Yemassee - also called Mount Pleasant, Old Brass
- Point Comfort - Hilton Head Island
- Point Place
- Polly's Grove
- Poplar Grove
- Porter Place
- Possum Point
- Pritchard Island
- Pritchard Place
- Red House
- Rephaim - Bluffton
- Republican Hall - Hilton Head Island
- Rest Park - Hilton Head Island
- Retreat - Beaufort - also called Pinckney Retreat
- Rhett Place
- Rice Hope
- Rice Park
- Robert Ellis
- Robert Fuller Place
- Rose Hill - Bluffton
- Rose Hill - Yemassee
- Rumwell Place
- Rythewood Pine Land
- Sams Pine Place
- Sand Hill - Hilton Head Island
- Sarah Ellis Place - also called Cedar Point
- Scott Place
- Sea Pines - Hilton Head Island
- Seabrook - Hilton Head Island - also called Skull Creek
- Seaside - St Helena Island - also called Edgar Fripp, Palmetto Hills
- Sheldon Hall
- Shell Point
- Skull Creek - Hilton Head Island - also called Seabrook
- Spanish Wells - Hilton Head Island
- Spring Hill
- Spring Island - Spring Island - also called Cochran's Island
- Springfield - Hilton Head Island
- St Quintal
- Stoney Baynard - Hilton Head Island
- Stoney Crest
- Strawberry Hill
- Summerland - Okatie
- Swamp Place
- Talbird Place
- Tar Bluff
- Thompson Place
- Tipperary - Bluffton
- Tom Baynard Place
- Tom Chaplin Place - St Helena Island - also called Palmetto Point, T.B. Chaplin Place, Tombee
- Tombee - St Helena Island - also called Palmetto Point, T.B. Chaplin Place, Tom Chaplin Place
- Tommy John - Gardens Corner
- Tomotley - Sheldon
- Trimblestone - also called Topping
- True Blue - Keans Neck
- Turkey Hill
- Twickenham - Yemassee
- Two Oaks - Hilton Head Island
- Village Farm
- Wakefield - Sheldon
- Wallace Place
- Wassaw Island
- Whitehall - Lady's Island
- Wigg Place
- William Barnwell - Port Royal
- William Perryclear Place - Port Royal
- Williams Place
- Woodlands - St Helena Island
- Woodstock - Port Royal
- Woodward - Port Royal Island
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Beaufort County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
- Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Beaufort South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.79 X2jL
- Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Beaufort South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.79 X2jL
- Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Beaufort South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.79 X2jL
- Jarrell, Lawrence E. 1820 Beaufort District, South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.799 X2j 1820
- "The 1839 State Census of Beaufort District," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 36, No. 3 (Summer 2008):139-143; Vol. 36, No. 4 (Fall 2008):193-195; Vol. 37, No. 1 (Winter 2009):29-31; Vol. 37, No. 2 (Spring 2009):89-91; Vol. 38, No. 2 (Spring 2009):89-91. FHL Books 975.7 B2sc v. 36-v. 38 Abstract of SCDAH microfilm CN 656B.
- Caldwell, Betsy McIntosh, Ann Kirkland Laffitte, and Lucy Keating Cobb. The 1850 Census of St. Luke's Parish, Beaufort County, South Carolina. Bluffton, S.C.: Bluffton Historical Preservation Society, 1984. FHL Collection 975.799 X2c 1850
- Jarrell, Lawrence E. 1850 Beaufort District, South Carolina Census Complete Transcription of the Free Schedule, U.S. Federal Census; Current Counties of Beaufort, Hampton, Jasper and Parts of Allendale, South Carolina. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 2000. FHL Collection 975.799 X2j 1850
For documents of early residents in this area, look in:
|Prince William's Parish (Sheldon Church)||1825-1873||C506571||1826-1876||M506571|
|St. Helena's Parish||1683-1822||C506581||1683-1822||M506581|
|Stoney Creek (Independent Congregational Church)||1744-1756||C506591||1744-1756||M506591|
Template:DNA DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Charleston County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.
More than 25 genealogies have been published about Beaufort County families. To view a list, visit Beaufort County, South Carolina Genealogy.
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Beaufort County:
|1769-1865||Records Lost *|
|1670-1710||Proprietary Land Grants|
* Beaufort District records destroyed by fire
- Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants
- Sherrard, Thomas H. A Working Plan for Forest Lands in Hampton and Beaufort Counties, South Carolina. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1903. Digital version at Google Books.
- Dabbs, Edith M. Sea Island Diary : a History of St. Helena Island (Spartanburg, South Carolina : Reprint, 1983, c1983), 285 pages. History of Penn School and St. Helena Island, showing the inseparably interwoven heritage of blacks and whites together. Book at FHL 975.799 H2d and Other Libraries
- Johnson, Guion Griffis. A Social History of the Sea Islands With Special Reference to St. Helena Island, South Carolina (New York, New York : Negro Universities Press, 1969), 245 pages. Sea Islands during the Federal Occupation throughout the Civil War and Negro culture on St. Helena Island. Book at FHL 975.799 H2j and Other Libraries
- Marscher, Fran Heyward. Remembering the Way it was : at Hilton Head, Bluffton, and Daufuskie (Charleston, South Carolina : The History Press, c2005-c2007), 190 pages. A collection of oral histories. Book at 975.799 H2m v.1 and Other Libraries.
- Marscher, Fran Heyward. Remembering the Way it was : at Beaufort, Sheldon and the Sea Islands (Charleston, South Carolina : The History Press, c2006), 126 pages. A collection of oral histories. Book at FHL 975.799 H2mf and Other Libaries
- Pearson, Elizabeth Ware. Letters from Port Royal, 1862-1868 (New York, New York : Arno Press, Inc., 1969), 345 pages. Letters from Port Royal written at the time of the Civil War. Experiment in freedom for 10,000 slaves. Book at FHL 975.799 F2L , Other Libraries
- Rowland, Lawrence S. The History of Beaufort County, South Carolina (Columbia, South Carolina : University of S.C., c1996), 521 pages. Three historians of the Palmetto State recount more that three centuries of Spanish and French exploration, English and Huguenot agriculture and African slave labor. Book (Vol.1) at FHL 975.799 H2rand Other Libraries.
- Smith, Henry A.M. "Beaufort: The Original Plan and the Earliest Settlers," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Jul. 1908):141-160. FHL Collection 975.7 B2s v. 9 (1908); digital version at JSTOR ($).
- Todd, John Reynard and Francis Marion Huston. Prince William's Parish and Plantations (Richmond [Virginia] : Garrett & Massie, c1935), 265 pages. This book portrays the physical development & transition of the Prince William's Parish section of South Carolina from the earliest days to the present and to preserve the old records. Book at 975.799 H2m v.1 Other Libraries
Early migration routes to and from Beaufort County for European settlers included:
- "Court-martial at Black Mingo for neglect of military duty, 1809," Three Rivers Chronicle, Summer 2004, Volume 25, Issue 2. Three Rivers Historical Society : Hemingway, SC.
- "Charlesfort revisited," Huguenot Society of South Carolina Transactions, 1985, Volume 26, Issue 90. Huguenot Society of North Carolina : Charleston, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.7 C4h
- "Port Royal Sound, French and Spanish forts," Huguenot Society of South Carolina Transactions, 1936, Volume 7, Issue 41. Huguenot Society of South Carolina : Charleston, SC.FHL Collection Book 975.7 C4h
- "Charles fort, Parris Island, dedication," Huguenot Society of South Carolina Transactions, 1926, Volume 5, Issue 31. Huguenot Society of South Carolina : Charleston, SC.FHL Collection Book 975.7 C4h
- "Charles fort, Parris Island, 1562," Huguenot Society of South Carolina Transactions, 1924, Volume 5, Issue 29. Huguenot Society of South Carolina : Charleston, SC.FHL Collection Book 975.7 C4h
- "Ribaults Fort," Huguenot Society of South Carolina Transactions, 1907, Volume 2, Issue 14. Huguenot Society of South Carolina : Charleston, SC.FHL Collection Book 975.7 C4h
- Barnwell, Robert. An Oration, Delivered before the Philomathean Society and Inhabitants of Beaufort, South Carolina, on Monday, July 4, 1803, In Commemoration of American Independence. Charleston, S.C.: John J. Evans & Co., 1803. Digital version at Google Books.
- "Battle of Port Royal note, 1779," Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, February 2001, Volume 135, Issue 2. Daughters of the America Revolution : Washington, D.C. FHL Collection 973 B2dar Films 1294343-48, 1697390 and 2055446.
- 1861-1865 - South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865- U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Civil War service men from Beaufort County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were specifically formed of men from Beaufort County.
- - 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company B - (also known as the Sumter Guards)
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (McCreary's) (1st Provisional Army), Company H - (also known as Haskell's Rifle Corps)
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Mounted Militia,
- - Barnwell's Company (also known as Palmetto Hussars)
- - Blakewood's Company (also known as Hardeeville Guerrillas)
- - Bostick's Company (also known as Allendale Guards)
- - Fripp's Company (also known as St. Helena Mounted Riflemen)
- - Kirk's Company (also known as May River Troop or Bluffton Troop)
- - Martin's Company (also known as Calhoun Minute Men or Red Oak Rangers
- - Screven's Company (also known as Beaufort District or Coosawhatchie Guerrillas)
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (2nd Palmetto Regiment), Company I (also known as Palmetto Guards)
- - 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry Reserves,
- - Company B
- - Ashley Dragoons or Ashley Rangers (also known as Captain Colcock's Company, South Carolina Cavalry)
- - Beaufort District Troop (also known as Captain J. H. Howard's Company)
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64), Company E and Company K
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B (also known as Beaufort Detachment, Hampton Legion, Beaufort District Troop, Beaufort Dragoons)
- - 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company F (also known as the Chestnut Light Artillery)
- - 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry,
- - Company C (also known as the Beaufort District Troop and Captain John H. Howard's Company, South Carolina Cavalry)
- - Company H (also known as the Ashley Dragoons or Rangers)
- - Company I (also known as the Rebel Troops)
- - 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company D
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company G
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company B
- - 8th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Stalling's), Company C
- - 9th Battalion, South Carolina infantry (Smith's) (Pee Dee Legion), Company D
- - 9th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves,, Company K
- - 11th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (9th Volunteers),
- - Company A
- - Company D
- - Company E
- - Company F
- - 11th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves(90 days 1862-63), Company F and Company L
- - 24th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D
- Staudenraus, P.J. "Occupied Beaufort, 1863: A War Correspondent's View," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 64, No. 3 (Jul. 1963):136-144. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- Pearson, Elizabeth Ware, Letters from Port Royal, 1862-1868 (New York, New York: Arno Press, Inc., 1969), 345 pages. Letters from Port Royal written at the time of the Civil War. Experiment in freedom for 10,000 slaves. Book at FHL 975.775 H2t , Other Libraries
- Johnson, Guion Griffis. A Social History of the Sea Islands With Special Reference to St. Helena Island, South Carolina (New York, New York;: Negro Universities Press, 1969), 245 pages. Civil War pages start on 154. Sea Islands during the Federal Occupation throughout the Civil War and Negro culture on St. Helena Island. Book at FHL 975.799 H2j and Other Libraries
Eighteenth-century South Carolina newspapers contain a wealth of information about residents. The Early South Carolina Newspapers Database (ESCN Database) has created an every-name index to the three largest newspapers for the years 1732 to 1780. Using their free online Surname Database , researchers may order a list of specific newspaper references from the organization for a very reasonable rate.
The Beaufort County Library has created a Newspaper Obituary Index. The Index is drawn from the library's microfilmed collection. Also included are some local newspapers that were started in 2006--Beaufort Today, Bluffton Today, and Hilton Head Island Today--these are not in the microfilm archives, they are just published in an online version as the source.
Currently, the obituary index contains 18,794 records from 18 Beaufort County newspapers from 1862 and May 15, 1984 and October, 2007 to the present. This is an ongoing project and records are being added on a regular bases. The site includes instructions on how to secure copies if you locate your ancestor. This index has been compiled independently by volunteers and the staff at the Beaufort County Library! T What a great asset to those doing research in Beaufort County.
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Beaufort County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Beaufort County News (Beaufort, S.C.) 1939-1939.
- Beaufort County Times (Beaufort, S.C.) 1871-1872.
- Beaufort Republican (Beaufort, S.C.) 1871-1873.
- Beaufort Times (Beaufort, S.C.) 1940-1940.
- Hilton Head Report (Hilton Head Island, S.C.) 1983-1988.
- Hospital Sentinel (Hilton Head, S.C.) 186?-186?.
- Hilton Head Sun (Hilton Head, S.C.) 1988-????.
- Port Royal Commercial and Beaufort County Republican (Port Royal, S.C.) 1873-1874.
- Port Royal Standard and Commercial (Beaufort, S.C.) 1874-1876.
- The Beaufort Enterprise (Grahamville, Beaufort District, S.C.) 1860-1860.
- The Beaufort Gazette ([Beaufort, S.C.]) 1828-18??.
- The Beaufort Gazette (Beaufort, S.C.) 1897-current.
- The Beaufort-Jasper News (Beaufort, S.C.) 1939-1939.
- The Beaufort Republican and Sea Island Chronicle (Beaufort, S.C.) 1869-1871.
- The Beaufort Times (Beaufort, S.C.) 1944-1946.
- The Beaufort Tribune and Port Royal Commercial (Beaufort, S.C.) 1877-1879.
- The Camp Kettle (Camp Kalorama, Washington, D.C.) 1861-186?.
- The Camp Kettle (Beaufort, S.C.) 1861-186?.
- The County Democrat (Beaufort, S.C.) 1910-1912.
- The Crescent (Beaufort, S.C.) 1879-1881.
- The Free South (Beaufort, S.C.) 1863-1864.
- The Hospital Transcript (Hilton Head, S.C.) 1865-1865.
- The Hospital Transcript (Hilton Head, S.C.) 1865-186?.
- The Island Packet (Hilton Head Island, S.C.) 1970-current.
- The Lowcountry Ledger (Beaufort, SC) 1988-1992.
- The New South (Port Royal, S.C.) 1862-1866.
- The New South (Beaufort, S.C.) 188?-189?.
- The Palmetto Herald (Port Royal, S.C.) 1864-1864.
- The Palmetto Post (Port Royal, S.C.) 1882-1906.
- The Sea Island News (Beaufort, S.C.) 1879-1888.
- The Southern Standard (Beaufort, S.C.) 1872-1873.
- The Tribune (Beaufort, S.C.) 1874-1876.
- Island Packet (Hilton Head, S.C.) Online edition.
- The Beaufort Gazette (Beaufort, S.C.) Online editon.
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
- Carolina Herald and Newsletter
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.” Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
Online Probate Records
- 1670-1980 - South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1671-1977 - South Carolina Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — images
- 1732-1964 - South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — images
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Beaufort County.
An interesting article about the intersection of free blacks and tax collecting in the county was published in 2006:
- Free Negroes Prohibition on Collecting Taxes, 1821-1841, Carolina Herald and Newsletter, Vol. 34, No. 3 (Jul. 2006).
- 1816 - Aggregate of Poor Tax for St. Peters in 1816, South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 35, No. 2 (Spring 2007).
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Beaufort County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766 - 1900 - South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — images
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Beaufort County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages - Indexes
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Beaufort County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths and Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1862-1984; 2007-2011 - Newspaper Obituary Index, 1862- May 1984; Oct 2007 to Present by Beaufort County Library - index
- 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Beaufort South Carolina Family History Center
- Heritage Library Foundation (described under "Archives, Libraries, and Museums" (below)
- Beaufort County Public Library
311 Scott St.
Beaufort, SC 29902
Telephone: (843) 255-6456
FAX: (843) 470-6541
Hours: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM; Frriday - Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM; Sunday: CLOSED
Collections: Beauford District Collection preserves, maintains and makes accessible a research collection of permanent value that records the history of the area of lowcountry South Carolina known as the old historic Beaufort District. It is intended to be used by customers who perform their own research. The BDC Research Room provides access to some of its materials and services through the “Virtual BDC,” the BDC web pages, the Online Obituary Index, the Phosphate, Farms, and Family digital collection, and the Connections blog.
They present programs about local history, archaeology, and our coastal environment, including the occasional instructional session about how to perform historical and/or genealogical research
. The BDC Research Room welcomes all visitors and researchers over the age of 12 years. It has space for up to 6 researchers at a time. Group visits must be scheduled in advance realizing they may not be able to accommodate a request.
- Heritage Library Foundation
852 William Hilton parkway
2nd Floor, Suite A-2
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Hours: Monday, Thursday, Fririday, Saturday 10:00 am-3:00 pm, Closed: Saturday in July and August
Fee: $10.00 per day
Services: Microfilm readers, computers, high-speed Web service, major online databases at Ancestry.com, Genealogy.com, and HeritageQuest.com through the Library’s network. The Library offers educational programs and publishes The Heritage Observer, a newsletter, and Glimpses,The library is a certified branch facility of the Family History Library.
The Heritage Library is a private reference library and research center which is open to the public. It is one of the most comprehensive libraries of its kind in the region, with and collections of books, microfilm, microfiche, CD-ROM, manuscripts, periodicals, video tapes, audio tapes, and maps. South Carolina materials account for about 10 percent of the holdings. The balance covers other states and many countries.
Collections: Collections include the records of The Hilton Head Island Historical Society containing a wealth of historical information, old photographs, and maps of Hilton Head Island and the Low Country. Also included is census data collected by the State of South Carolina immediately following the Civil War. The Library has a continually-growing collection of histories of the plantations that existed on the island, and such ongoing projects as indexing maps, land certificates and indentures, and the collection of material on Colored Troops from pension and other records
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
Beaufort Chapter SCGS
P.O. Box 1070
St. Helena Island SC 29920-1070
Beaufort County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 5492
Hilton Head Island SC 29928
Source: Society Hill
Heritage Library Foundation (described under "Archives, Libraries, and Museums" above)
- Beaufort County, SC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Beaufort County, SCGenWeb
- Beaufort County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- South Carolina State Library, "Beaufort County".
- "Beaufort County".
- Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 12.
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1775" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1775.html (accessed 9 May 2011).
- Hugh Wallis, IGI Batch Numbers for South Carolina, USA, accessed 14 September 2010.
- Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."