Beauchief Abbey, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Beauchief Abbey, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Beauchief Abbey, Derbyshire|
|Poor Law Union||Ecclesall Bierlow|
|Registration District||Ecclesall Bierlow|
|Parish registers: 1670|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BEAUCHIEF-ABBEY,an extra-parochial liberty, formerly part of the parish of Norton, in the union of Ecclesall-Bierlow, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 3½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Dronfield. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Beauchief Abbey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Beauchief Abby St Thomas an extra-parochial liberty (1670) Online Records|
To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration District[edit | edit source]
- Ecclesall Bierlow
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Ecclesall Bierlow
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Beauchief Abbey on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 184-187. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.