Bear Wood, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Bear Wood, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bear Wood, Berkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wokingham|
|Parish registers: 1846|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
Bear Wood is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1846 from Hurst Ecclesiastical Parish and Wokingham Ecclesiastical Parish.
BEARWOOD, a chapelry in Hurst and Wokingham parishes, (which also see) Berks; 2¼. miles S of Wokingham. It was constituted in 1846.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bear Wood parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - ($)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|Bear Wood Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Bear Wood from Hurst in GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870). Accessed: 15 Apr 2013.