Bayswater, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bayswater, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Bayswater, a hamlet in the parish of Paddington, Holborn division of the hundred Ossulstone, County of Middlesex, 1 mile from Cumberland Gate, London, on the Uxbridge Road. Bayswater, which may now be considered as a suburb to the metropolis, consists of several ranges of neat houses, and of some handsome detached residences; it has been much increased by ranges of new buildings branching off from the main street towards the north, and is desirable as a place of residence from its vicinity to Kensington gardens, which are situated on the south. An Episcopal chapel was built by Mr Edward Orme in 1818.[1]

BAYSWATER, a suburb of London, and a chapelry in Paddington parish and Marylebone borough, Middlesex. The suburb adjoins Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens, and the Great Western railway. It was originally called Baynard's water.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Bayswater Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past (Westminster)-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past Banns-Middlesex ($)
-
-
-
1700s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Early) ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Late) ($)
1800s-1900s
-
1700s-1900s
-
1800s-2000s
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds and Allegations-London and Surrey ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1841 Census returns for all of Paddington are missing. Parts of Bayswater are in Kensington, linked below.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, M.R.I.A., Architect. In “A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs,” 181-184. (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Online at Google Books. Adapted. Date accessed: 24 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.