Bay County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Bay County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bay County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||April 24, 1913|
|County Seat||Panama City|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 3.1 Parent County
- 3.2 Description
- 3.3 Boundary Changes
- 3.4 Record Loss
- 3.5 Places / Localities
- 3.6 Resources
- 3.6.1 African American
- 3.6.2 Biography
- 3.6.3 Cemeteries
- 3.6.4 Census
- 3.6.5 Church
- 3.6.6 Court
- 3.6.7 Land
- 3.6.8 Local Histories
- 3.6.9 Maps
- 3.6.10 Military
- 3.6.11 Newspapers
- 3.6.12 Obituaries
- 3.6.13 Probate
- 3.6.14 Taxation
- 3.6.15 Vital Records
- 3.7 Societies and Libraries
- 3.8 Websites
- 3.9 References
Bay County, Florida Record Dates
Bay County Courthouse
300 E 4th St; PO Box 2269;
Panama City, FL 32402;
Heatlh Deptment has bird and death records;
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate, divoce, Court
ircuit has marriage, probate, divorce, ct & land rec from 1913
Bay County Health Department
597 W. 11th Street
Panama City, FL 32401
(850) 872-4720 x1122
FAX (850) 872-4824
The county was named for St. Andrews Bay. The County Seat is Panama City and the county was created April 24, 1913. The County is located in the North West area of the state.
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit [https:// florida.hometownlocator.com/counties/cities,cfips,097,c,traill.cfm HomeTown Locator]. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
- Index to Bay County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
The following web sites may have additional information on Bay County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
For tips on accessing Bay County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
- USGenWeb First Baptist Church of Southport History
- thecatholicdirectory.net Catholic Churches in Bay County Florida
- Church Angel Florida Churches by City
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Florida Territorial Land Records USGenWeb
Local histories are available for Bay County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
- 1821-1997 Maps of Florida
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps University of South Florida
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
Military Land Grants
- Some Military Land Grants In Bay County Florida For Soldiers Of The War Of 1812 (USGenWeb Archives)
- Some Military Land Grants In Bay County Florida For Soldiers Of The Indian Wars (USGenWeb Archives)
- Some Military Land Grants In Bay County Florida For Soldiers Of The Mexican War/Unknown (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War I
- Bay County, Florida - 1917-18 Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames A-F (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bay County, Florida - 1917-18 Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames G-O (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bay County, Florida - 1917-18 Civilian Draft Registration, Surnames P-Z (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II
- Bay County FlArchives Military Records.....Army Enlistees Names AARON - CAULEY (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bay County FlArchives Military Records.....Army Enlistees Names CHAFFEE - FOY (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bay County FlArchives Military Records.....Army Enlistees Names FRAGGER - IVEY (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bay County FlArchives Military Records.....Army Enlistees Names JACKSON - MC TIGHE (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bay County FlArchives Military Records.....Army Enlistees Names MCLEOD - RAINS (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bay County FlArchives Military Records.....Army Enlistees Names RAMIREZ - SYPERT (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bay County FlArchives Military Records.....Army Enlistees Names TAIT - ZION (USGenWeb Archives)
- Bay County World War II Honor Roll of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict distantcousin.com
- Bay County, Florida Korean War Casualties (Genealogy Trails)
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War distantcousin.com
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bay County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb
Probate records are held by the Bay County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Bay County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
- 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- 1877 - 1939 - Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900 - 1921 - Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch — index
- 1877 - 1998 - Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch — index
- 1915 - Bay County Deaths for the year 1915 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1927 - 2001 - Ancestry.com $ Florida, Divorce Index, 1927-2001
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 - Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch — index
- 1830 - 1993 - Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch — index
Societies and Libraries
- Bay County Genealogical Society Website has births, marriage, deeds, cemetery, obituary, voters, a research gateway to digitized newspapers from the area, and First Families of Bay County Pioneer web pages.
- Random Acts of Kindness List of Florida Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies
- FamilySearch Find a Family History Center
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Bay County Genealogical Society
- Bay County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The FLGenWeb Project
- Bay County, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Bay County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Bay County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- Bay County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- Bay County FL Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 123-139. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bay County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bay County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bay_County,_Florida 04/21/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Bay County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bay¬_County,_Florida, accessed 10 December 2018.