Baxter County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Baxter County
 

Guide to Baxter County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mountain Home
Organized: March 24, 1873
Parent County(s): Fulton, Izard, Marion, and Searcy[1]
Neighboring Counties
Fulton  • Howell (MO)  • Izard  • Marion  • Ozark (MO)  • Searcy  • Stone
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasBaxterCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-baxter.png
Adoption

Morning on the Buffalo River which runs through four Counties in Arkansas

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Baxter County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
1 E 7th Street
Mountain Home, AR 72653
Phone: 870.425.3475
Baxter County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, land and court records.[2]

Baxter County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1873 1914* 1874 1876 1874
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Baxter County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Baxter County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1808 - The Osage relinquished their claims to this area to the United States.
  • Most of the pioneers moving into the area before the Civil War were from Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
  • 1819 - The county’s earliest recorded town was Big Clarkridge.
  • Baxter was not yet a county during the Civil War
  • 1873 - March 24 - Governor Baxter formed Baxter County.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Baxter, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Cothren, Zac. "Baxter County Courthouse," Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 31, no. 2 (Apr./June 2005).
  • Fleming, Louise. "The good old days in Baxter County," Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 31, no. 4 (Oct./Dec. 2005).
  • Messick, Mary Ann. History of Baxter County, 1873-1973. Mountain Home, Arkansas:Montain Home Chamber of Commerce, c1973.
  • Andrewson, Jane Messick. "Post offices in Baxter County," Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 31, no. 2 (Apr./June 2005).
  • Acklin, Emmit Dolan. "Slaves & free blacks in this area 1819-1900" Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 32, no. 2 (Apr./June 2006).

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Baxter CountyFulton CountyIzard CountyStone CountySearcy CountyMarion CountySharp CountyCleburne CountyIndependence CountyVan Buren CountyBoone CountyOzark CountyHowell CountyTaney CountyOregon CountyARBaxter.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Baxter County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society
Baxter County Heritage Center
808 South Baker Street
Mountain Home, AR
Telephone: 870.425.2551
Website

  • Their website links to: Sheriffs Biographies; Archival Program, which includes County, Township, and Local Government Records, School Records, Birth, Marriage and Death Records and much more.

Websites

  • USGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • resources at RootsWeb . Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList (no link for Baxter County). Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Jane Andrewson, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=747&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed 2016 01 07), “Baxter County.”
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.