Batley Carr, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Batley Carr, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Batley Carr, Yorkshire|
|County||Yorkshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Dewsbury|
|Parish registers: 1841|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1842|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Chapel History[edit | edit source]
BATLEY-CARR, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish and union of Dewsbury, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 1 mile (N.) from Dewsbury; containing 2144 inhabitants. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from the chapelry of Batley Carr is not yet available. Check the following websites periodically for updates:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|GEN = Genuki.org.uk|
|BATLEY CARR CHAPELRY (1835) Online Records|
|FS||1835-1837, 1869, 1872, 1880-1909||1863-1905||None|
|BATLEY PARISH (1559) Online Records|
To identify all neighbouring chapelries contiguous to Batley Carr, lying in Batley Parish, be certain to visit the [Batley, Yorkshire|Batley Ancient Parish] page; scroll to the "Church Records" section. Also, you can find most if not all the names of the neighbouring parishes, by using the England Jurisdictions 1851 map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. This ancient "Church of England (AP) was created by 1835.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Note that this is a chapelry created from Dewsbury so is included in the Census with Dewsbury.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 168-177. Date accessed: 06 January 2014.