Bastrop County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Bastrop County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 17, 1836|
|Address|| Bastrop County Courthouse|
804 Pecan Street
PO Box 577
Bastrop, TX 78602
Bastrop County Website
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 County Information
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Archives
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church
- 5.5 Community
- 5.6 County Courts
- 5.7 Land
- 5.8 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Message Boards
- 5.12 Mailing Lists
- 5.13 Military
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Probate Records
- 5.16 Professional Help
- 5.17 Research Links
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 References
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1860, probate records from 1850,
court records from 1890, land records from 1837, military
discharge records from 1919 and naturalization re
P. O. Box 577
P.O. Box 770
Bastrop County, Texas Record Dates
The county was named for the Baron de Bastrop (1759-1827). He was Felipe Enrique Neri, colonizer, legislator, and self-styled Baron de Bastrop. He was born Philip Hendrik Nering Bögel in Paramaribo, Dutch Guiana, on November 23, 1759, the son of Conraed Laurens Nering and Maria Jacoba (Kraayvanger) Bögel.
From January 8, 1836 to December 13, 1837, the Municipality and County of Mina consisted of parts of present day Mason, Kimble, Llano, Burnet, Williamson, Gillespie, Blanco, Comal, Hays, Travis, Caldwell, Bastrop, Lee, Gonzales, Fayette, Washington, and Lavaca counties. On December 14, 1837, the Second Congress passed legislation changing the geographical limits, creating Fayette County, removing Gonzales and Caldwell Counties from the boundries and, five months later, added parts of Kimble and Comal Counties. On December 18, 1837, Sam Houston signed an act incorporating the town of Mina and, on the same day, changing the name of the county and town of Mina to Bastrop. May 24, 1838 to January 24, 1840, shows the borders of Bastrop County to contain parts of present day Blanco, Burnet, Williamson, Travis, Hays, Comal, Caldwell, Bastrop, Lee, Gonzales and Fayette counties. From January 25, 1840 to January 25, 1850 the border changed to almost it's present size with a small portion of Lee, Williamson, Caldwell, Gonzales and Fayette counties included.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Bastrop County Archives from the USGenWeb Archives.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|TX Gravestones||WorldCat||Tombstone Project|
|Billion Graves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|USGW Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Billion Graves (cemetery)||Linkpendium|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Census 1830 to 1880 at the Bastrop County TXGenWeb site
- Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990
Compiled and edited by Richard L. Forstall
US Bureau of the Census
Washington, DC 20233
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
TXGenWeb Site Bibles, Colonies, Family Sheets, Letters, Phone Books, Maps, Newspapers, Pictures, School Records
Bastrop County Clerk's Office
803 Pine, Room 112
PO Box 577
Bastrop, TX 78602
Telephone: (512) 332--7234
(Land, Vital Records, Oil/Gas Leases)
Bastrop County District Clerk's Office
PO Box 770
Bastrop, TX 78602
Telephone: (512) 332--7244
(Criminal and Civil, Licenses, Taxes)
Bastrop County Commissioner's Offices
804 Pecan Street
Bastrop, TX 78602
TXGenweb Site Links for Court Officials, Commissioner's Court records, District/Civil Court records, Criminal Court minutes, Election Results, Naturalization records, Cattle Brands, Texas Supreme Court records, Deeds, Judgements in Lunacy, Paupers, and links to other records.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1906-1989 Texas, Naturalization Records — index and images
Local histories are available for Bastrop County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Bastrop County, Texas Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Bastrop County TXGenWeb Site Information on the Civil War, WWI, WWII, Vietnam, Mina Volunteers, Revolutionary War and Military Rolls 1835-45
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1838-1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards at Ancestry.com — index and images $
World War I
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bastrop County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Bastrop County Newspaper Extractions and Images from the TXGenWeb site
- Genealogy Bank Subscription
- Newspaper Archives Subscription
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800–1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800–2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Cyndi's List - Texas
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- The Handbook of Texas
- Fold 3 Military Records Subscription
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
- Bastrop County Births, Deaths, Marriages, Probate Records Small Claims, Guardianships and Insanity. From the Bastrop County TXGenWeb site,
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840-1981 Texas, Births and Christenings
- 1903-1935 Texas Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1903-1997 Texas, Birth Index
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 - Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 Texas Marriage Collection at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages - FamilySearch record collection
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index ~ FamilySearch records collection
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1977 Texas County Marriage Records - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages - FamilySearch record collection
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
- 1890-1976 Texas, Deaths (New Index, New Images) ~ FamilySearch
- 1903-1973 Texas, Deaths and Burials ~ FamilySearch
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903-2000 Texas, Death Index ~ FamilySearch
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
Bastrop County Historical Society
PO Box 279
Mc Dade Historical Society
c/o D. Musgrave, Box 817
Mc Dade 78650
Bastrop County Historical Society Museum
702 Main Street
Bastrop, Texas 78602
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.