Barwell, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Barwell, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Mary Barwell Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Hinckley|
|Registration District||Blaby; Hinckley; Market Bosworth|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1564|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARWELL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Hinckley, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 2 miles (N. E. by N.) from Hinckley. There are chapels of ease at Potters-Marston and Stapleton, in the parish;and a place of worship for Wesleyans.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Barwell like this:
BARWELL, a township in Blaby district, and a parish in Blaby, Hinckley, and Market-Bosworth districts, Leicester. The township lies 2 miles NNE of Hinckley r. station, and 6½ NE of Nuneaton. There are Wesleyan and Primitive Methodist chapels.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Barwell, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Barwell, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Barwell Bap 1661 - 1976 Marr 1654 - 1993 (Banns to1986) Bur 1653 - 1887 - for later burials see Stapleton, Leicestershire
In addition this office holds the following Non Conformist registers:
Barwell Primitive Methodist Marr 1922-1965 referenceN/M/142/148-154
Barwell Primitive Methodist Bap 1899-1940 referenceDE 4055/4
Barwell Wesleyan Methodist Marr 1913-1978 reference N/M/142/155-161
Barwell Wesleyan Methodist Bap 1851-1910 referenceDE 4055/1
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.